You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Marketing Steemit: The Importance of "Getting Rewarded" vs. "Making Money"

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm brand new to steemit and also studying marketing, so this was a really interesting read, and I definitely agree. However, steemit itself seems to contradict this marketing method by putting a dollar sign next to the amount made on each post (which is what I assume that number represents). I honestly don't know yet if this is a good or bad thing to feature on the site. What I do know is that it caught my interest immediately, but goes against what you're saying and how I would market the website. It's an interesting topic that deserves a lot more discussion.

Sort:  

@mavrek, welcome to Steemit, and thanks for your comment!

You're right, the "$" sign is a little confusing, and I have long pondered why there isn't a stylized currency symbol for Steem (the underlying currency of Steemit) to distinguish itself from dollars. Because that's really what should appear there, in a little round circle like the "^".

What I do know is that since the platform is created and maintained by a decentralized team of developers, there are also lots of little "bits" from older versions of Steemit that sometimes get overlooked. This would be a good point to bring up with the devs.

I look at the dollar sign more as an overall assessment of the quality of the post, not necessarily a way to get paid. While you have to guess what happened with a FB, IG, or Twitter post, on Steemit it's pretty clear within a day or so how you did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42