Hello Mental Masturbator

in #steemit7 years ago

Over the last couple of 100degrees events, I noticed while there are a few who are totally excited about Steemit, open their accounts on the spot, and once it’s approved, started writing their first post.

Action rewarded. #boom

Then of course, there are the “no-lar-writing-is-not-for-me” group, which I usually just ask them to check out other cryptocurrency generations means like Kinguin.io or Kik Messenger. Of course, getting a mining server rig works too.

But the group that gets me the most are those who ask a million and one questions...

“Seriously, where the money comes from?”

“Should I open multiple accounts?”

“Should I learn markdown formatting, or just do it on Typora/Bear like you recommended?”

“What should I write about?”

“What topics can make the most money on Steemit?”

“Will Steem’s value go up like Bitcoin?"

“I know you and @bitrocker2020 have explained it, but seriously now: where the money comes from?”

And do… nothing.

Don't get me wrong, I like questions, because I too am naturally curious. But the part on needing to get 120% understanding on something before taking action, or the over-perfectionist who needs the first post to be 120% beyond perfection? They kill me!

Best part is, you can point them to as many FAQs, Knowledge Base, YouTube videos, but 2 months later, they have yet to post anything on their account. And I usually found out, not because I stalk them, but when they PM me on WhatsApp and asked,

“Why didn’t you tell me SBD1 is USD13.13 now?”

Of course, I told them it doesn’t mean JACK SHIT because even if it is USD18,739,647/SBD, it requires you to have SBD to start with, and that means you gotta create contents first (unless they wanna deposit money into the account).

It just amazes me that some of the smartest people I know (unfortunately) are in this category. Brilliant minds they have, and talented writers too. But the act of over thinking caused them to suffer from analysis-paralysis, and the strive for Godly perfection for the very first Steemit post is suicidal (to me, but hey, maybe to them too!)

Worse is when they can’t move on. I would have been totally ok if they look at Steemit, said No, and turned the other way. But they simply can’t! They see their friends earning Steem and ranking up their reputations, and say to themselves that they can do it too. They go around asking others how much they have made, and become envious of their commitment to produce content regularly.

They would ask tips on content creation:

  • How to write
  • How to structure
  • How to format
  • What photos to use
  • What photos not to use
  • Bullet points?
  • Or no bullet points?
  • Will their IP be protected?
  • Will Steemit crash and take away their money?
  • Will Jibby win the next GE?

Over time, my response is,

“Maybe Steem is just not for you. Hey look, there’s a Ponzi scheme!”

Post-End Credit Scene:

A few months later, in the wee hours of a Monday morning, the clock flashed: 3.43am. The multiple buzz from my phone alerted me from my slumber.

I picked up the phone and looked at the screen.

“Mav, where the money from Steemit come from?"


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD1, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

"If you don't start writing now, the money is coming from nowhere."

classic question .. "where the money comes from ?" we should do a video and play it each time that question is asked

Do next meetup near fountain so that you can do the live demonstration and if still they don't get it, then you say you will push them inside the fountain and they won't ask you this question anymore....MUAHAHAHA!!!

So.. where does the money come from?

Transfer your Steem and SBD over and you'll know how the money is lost. :)

I have to say- your title made me laugh and I JUST HAD to see what this pots was about!

Click baited you ;)

Betul-betul spot on! The next time any would-be Steemian asked me any questions bout Steemit, I will point them to your post #NoNeedToExplainBanyakBanyak

And a bottom of mental lubricant. :)

And or ADD a bottom of mental lubricant? #SoundsSoSalah LOL

Brilliant! That's part of the reason I haven't recommend Steemit to anyone. Creating content is real work. People either love creating content, believe in creating content, or both to do it consistently.

If you've been blogging for a long time somewhere else. Great! Steemit is for you.

If you've been thinking to start creating content but find it financially impractical to pursue for the long run. Great! Steemit could be a great platform to kickstart your creative career.

If you're a professional content creator. Awesome! Steemit can become another great income stream for what you have been doing.

But if you want to get rich by working for 20 minutes at home using just your laptop. Sorry. Steemit won't work. (I think it does for some, but not for the majority.)

PS: Nice image bait! @maverickfoo :P

20 minutes? To most, it will be either:

  1. What to write ah?
  2. MS Word, Textpad, Note Pad, Google Docs, Evernote, or Typora ah?
  3. What font ah?
  4. Wonder what new trailer in on Youtube. Let me watch one. 3 hours later, aiya, late already, better sleep. Steemit tomorrow lar.
  5. Rinse and repeat.

Hi Mav,

Can I get your permission to copy the last few paragraph inviting people to join steemit and why join steemit. Thanks

Hey @diamondray, go ahead! Spread the love!

@maverickfoo Where's the SBD that you're supposed to send me?

JK

Baaaasketball this 1 good ar. Felt absofarkinlutely a slap to those bugger who ask a million penny question and yet to even pick up their keyboard. I know I'm not in any better position to comment on others because it took me 3 months to start my first post. The only million dollar questions I asked to @bitrocker2020 was, mana pergi teh tarik after the meet :) Kudos guys! Pinjam resteem. Am gonna use this to slap on other buggers.

Haha, we're all old dudes. After the 100degrees, gotta go home already. But no worries, @karinzdailygrind will be spearheading a Steemian Meetup in Jan.

Funny that this question never cross my mind... something wrong with me ah...? Hahaha

Because you are a dooer! Which is better!

Well, truth is we need a mix. Plan, execute (with up to 70% certainty or after a set time), evaluate, source feedback, adjust strategy, execute. Rinse repeat.

Couldn't agree more! Let's work hard on this!

Really like the way u put it....hilarious yet strong message delivered..Lol

Can't convinced myself not to upvote your post....You deserved it! Hahaha....

Thanks! Love the use of double negative, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50