You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Reading Others' Articles Is An Investment For Your Own Blog

in #steemit6 years ago

"The better you read, the better you write."

That's an interesting concept to me. I've always been both a reader and a writer, so I just assume the two go hand in hand. However, I guess it's probably possible to be a good reader and a poor writer. I'm not sure though. As a former English teacher, I know that reading ability is linked to vocabulary, and vocabulary has a lot to do with writing ability, but I believe there is also an aspect of organization that has nothing to do with reading ability which makes some writers stand out from others.

There's also a unique way of looking at the world that some poor readers are able to convey through their limited writing skills. Hmmm...

I realize this is largely away from your point of reading quality materials to create quality content...but your blog made me ponder. :-)

Thanks for posting!

Sort:  

That's an interesting thought and I agree to some point. Even though writing and reading do go hand in hand, one isn't a necessity for the other. You can still write well enough if you are able to express yourself without any resistance.

But it's also true that reading enhances your writing abilities. I think the point I'm trying to make here is, you can still write good without reading on a regular basis, but you can write a whole lot better when you actually do read!

Yes, I can 100% agree with that! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68622.46
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66