Should You Leave steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago

I wrote this as a comment on somebody's post and I think every minnow should read it.

I think if the platform is unsettling to you and you see no hope that it will get better, you should leave.
I see it a bit differently. I see steemit as an opportunity to see a lot of different content and make contact with some great people. It is much like the pioneering days in America. Bear with me.
1:You stake your claim on here Nobody competes for your spot.
2: You work your claim to make it more liveable and fertile through content posting
3:You continue to grow your stake and people start to notice and follow your work
4: Reach out to your neighbors. Reaching out to others and following those whose content you enjoy will pay back dividends and increase your bandwidth.
5: Keep plugging! If you give up on working your stake, it will surely put out a bad crop, stay positive and post on. Find your niche and work it out. If you thought you could just plant a few seeds and get a huge crop, without any weeding or digging , try to grow something real with no attention paid.
6: Yes there are bigger stakes being worked, yes, sometimes your neighbor will get a better crop even though it appears that he didn't till has land as well as you. Blaming them for your lack of success is not going to make you successful.

So, yes, if you do not wish to do the work to make your stake into a mega farm, you should leave steemit. I am in it for the long haul and I think I can succeed here. Maybe I am wrong, but, I rarely see successful people telling Forbes how little work they did to get to the top.
Those of us who choose to stay and work our stakes will not suffer if the lower vibration crowd just disappears. And you will not be missed.

Sort:  

This is some great advice; hopefully many minnows will read it.

I am a great example of what can happen with some perseverance and work.

I have no prior experience in any of this.

Sometimes I now gain 100 followers in a week, and the whales have taken notice.

The only way that I can be absolutely sure you will not succeed is to quit; the choice is yours.

Yes ok,keep writting 20 hours a day to take a bone from the whales and their friend will take 10000 dollars with 4 posts,keep writting

@stell, I'm not sure if you're trying to be serious, but I think, in most cases, your claim above is very unrealistic.

I am simply trying to encourage newer steemians, because this platform can take a while to figure out, and it is usually very discouraging at first.

I faced a lot of it too, but I persevered. My perseverance was no guarantee that I would succeed, but not persevering would have definitely guaranteed that I would not succeed.

All I offered is my simple encouragement.

PLUS, IT IS TRUE.

anns you need to upvote more
Press that damn button

You mean that just commenting on every post isn't enough?

Thanks for the analogy. I like it. I will do my best to keep plugging away, because the concept fascinates me and I'm learning some new things. I have at least seen my reputation rise, so that encourages me.

Exactly, I'm glad you liked it.

yes I agree with you @matthewtii ! I got upvoted and started to make money right away, then it dried up and I got annoyed - so I had to confront my ideas about money and why I am on here and flattery - it was interesting. The nice thing about being on here is that I can blog and people might actually read my stuff - I have started to weed myself off of Facebook and in-so-doing I am also reading real books written on real paper - that's nice too. I am interested to see how it develops - and I wonder if I can be a part of the voice of change and not just subject to the whims of the hierarchy...

Right. I only wished to help with this. I'm glad you see my point. I only share things from here to fb and use it to remind me of birthdays. Lol

Why you dont say whose post ,are you afraid of the whales ...,do you mean this post https://steemit.com/steem/@stell/why-i-believe-steemit-is-a-scam-2 keep writting here you have already earnrd a lot of money:)

Sorry, it was not your post and I will not out the person who posted the article. A little research is all it would take to find out the post I commented on. I care little for the approval of the whales ,but , it wouldn't hurt either. It would help get the message heard. I haven't made much money on here myself, but I am building a following and I find the community more satisfying than simple cash would be.

Excellent answer my friend!

Your link above doesn't work, because you forgot to put a space before the comma to distance the link from the text.

You should be able to edit that.

I imagine you wrote this post just in case the whales upvote you and you get any money but i doubt it you are not one of their friends,sorry good try though

This has nothing to do with getting up voted by a whale to make money. If you read the post, you will find that message. You will not get something for nothing. If you want to get something from steemit, you have to put in to it. Sometimes you have to put a great deal in before you start to reap the rewards. No need to be hating

i am sorry my friend you didht make money from that post you just lost one hour of your time for nothing mibenkito is rich with 5 posts he wrote in five hours, something you are doing wrong i think:),such a pity for you

@stell, you really should release some of the negativity that you seem to be harboring. Do you utilize any other social media? Particularly the mainstream options? How much are those paying you? How much of your privacy have you relinquished with mindlessly agreeing to app updates? So you spend some time on here. You may or may not make some money. I hope you're as passionate about the state of this world as you are with the "unjust" distribution of steem wealth. Just my opinion

I feel empowered by Steemit as well @mattewtiii

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64871.83
ETH 2536.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67