I didn't think I was going to post about this... Might as well: 500 followers!

in #steemit7 years ago

Screenshot from 2017-10-23 23-21-24.jpg

This isn't as exciting as I had hoped it would be

But I am thankful that I reached this milestone. The reason it feels anti-climatic is that so many of my followers are no longer actively posting on Steemit.

Well, to be fair, I am not that active in posting either (maybe a little more than once a week for the past month or so). However, I do frequently comment and upvote. I'm still here!

It's a bit discouraging to see people try Steemit and then fall off and stop posting. This is natural, as it is exciting at first and then life happens... people get busy with other things.

I was planning on posting a lot about programming

And then my life got really busy and I stopped programming and focused on bringing in money to pay the bills. Things change.

I still really like Steemit and I'm here for the long haul. It's social media that I can really enjoy. I like connecting with people here... I just hope they stay.

Big takeaway for me: Bitshares

I feel that the most important thing I learned about while on Steemit was Bitshares. I'm not even sure that I had heard about it before my time on Steemit. Now I am all in on Bitshares, trading on the Decentralized Exchange every day.

I'm excited about what's happening there, too. Just like I was initially excited about Steemit. The thing is, though, that to be successful you have to consistently show up and put in the work. I hope to continue to do that for both Steemit and Bitshares. I'm not sure how long it will take before it starts to make a difference in my life, but I'm going to keep at it.

I'm learning a lot about Bitshares from @kenCode and @agorise. I'm excited about their projects and I want them to succeed. I believe in the power of distributed systems and I'd like to see them compete again centralized systems... and win. I'd like to be a part of that.

Back to work

I have a lot to do, but I'm glad I wrote this post. Thank you to all my followers! If you are still here and reading my posts, please comment and let me know!

Thanks for reading

-- @matthewdavid

Sort:  

Congratulations!

Thanks Sean :-)

Congrats @matthewdavid! It's a real challenge to remain consistent with a new platform and you've been doing it! I've enjoyed your posts -- keep up the good work! -dt

Thanks Derek. I appreciate that!

time for...

Thanks! This made me smile. Yes, it is good to celebrate. Even the small milestones are worth noting and being happy about.

@matthewdavid, congratulations on the 500 follower achievement. I am one of your followers, and I am still here. I have not written very many articles myself, but I do try to read others' works daily, and reply at least 10 times a day, and upvote 10 - 20 times. It helps me keep moving forward as I try to find my groove here. Keep on doing what you're doing, bro! Cheers! Upvoted!

Thanks for commenting! Good to see that you are reading and staying active with comments and upvotes. I also enjoy a good cup of coffee.

Yeah, and I have discovered that @originalworks hosts a new writing contest every week, so I am participating in those now that I know when and where to look for them. I'm really enjoying the writing prompts, and the challenge of writing about something that I might not start out knowing anything about. Cheers!

Well done Matthew, always worth a celebration post.

Tough to gain followers current with Steemit playing up - let's hope for better times ahead.

Thanks Asher. I think Steemit will get better. I appreciate your comment. It's good to know people are still reading.

Congrats , and share your experience , thoughts and many blogs . Love it.
Thanks for sharing

Congrats @matthewdavid, 500 followers nice job!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83