Power to the poster, and some safe shallows for the noobs.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

We're different here, but not different enough, at least not yet.

We have two problems, and I have one solution for both.

First problem, the little guy. He arrives with a suitcase full of hopes and dreams, and a reputation of 25.
He'll pick it up as he goes along.
Except he found a popular post and spammed the comments.
He offered to follow for follow, or posted with popular tags, instead of pertinent ones.
He's worked it out now, and learned his lesson, but the damage is done.


Source

It's possible to reset, start again with a new name, but it's not easy, and not everyone has the skills. We'd also prefer they didn't.

Capture.PNG

Found in a steemit facebook group

Now a lot of this we can't help, but one big downvote magnet will have been his comments on posts, particularly the posts of orcas and whales.
He should have learned how to swim by paddling in the shallows , but we let him dive straight in to the briny deep and he drowned.

My suggestion would have slowed him down a little, and maybe that's a good thing.


The other problem is the big guy, a celebrity. Let's say Ashton Kutcher.

I can't comment on Ashton's posts here. Ned himself can't.
Nobody can because Ashton isn't here.
That's our baseline for comparison, zero Ashton. So how do we increase our total Ashton?
He may be on twitter, he may be on facebook, he may engage on those platforms a lot or a little, but wherever he chooses to engage with the public, he has to deal with trolls.
They're noise, they get in the way, and they do it because it costs them nothing.

I suggest, that when checking the 50/50 or 100% boxes, and typing in the tags, there should be a new slider, where the author can manually select the minimum reputation required to comment on the post.


Source

I raised this idea 9 months ago, and I think the platform has matured sufficiently to put it back on the table.

The big, immediate objection is that it would make it harder for the little guy to build his reputation.
But let's take a closer look.
Most posters want comments. I imagine the average slider bar selection would be about 30.
Lots of posters would leave it on the current default of 25, a few larger orcas would probably bump it up to 40 or 50, and real heavyweights like Ned and Ashton would have it on 60 or 65.
Newcomers like our friend Alaa Abu Jabal would likely be capable of commenting on the majority of posts from the outset.
As he grew in reputation, and became more familiar with the expectations of the community, he'd be capable of commenting on more and more of those few posts initially denied him by the slider bar, and that's a good thing.

I'm sure if we asked him, he'd suggest that this limitation would have helped him a lot, by keeping him out of the path of big downvoting whales, until he learned to swim.

Ashton, by all accounts, is a great guy. He's personable and fun, and I'm sure he'd like to chat with everyone who wants to chat with him, but logistics get in the way.
There are too many of us, and too few of him.
Is it better that nobody gets to comment on his posts because he's not here, or that only some people can, only after consistently doing the right thing?
Some celebrities ration their time by appearing at conventions, where the entry price filters out those would couldn't afford or didn't prioritise the price of admission.

What I was really trying not to do was have elitist tickets.
I didn’t want people to pay $170 and get front row tickets and a meet and greet. I hate that shit.
The moment you allow a kid with a rich father to have more things than a kid with a poor father I think that’s shit.
It’s great that $99 is affordable, but I wanted it to be the same price for everyone. - Ed Sheeran

I think a system more appealing to the fairer minded celebrity, would be one where anyone at all could have a few seconds of their time, just by demonstrating a history of kind, respectful, insightful discourse.

And this is exactly what we have with the current reputation system

You don't need money to get into fight club, you just need to stand on the porch for a few days.


Source

@cryptogee just posted a great piece about the dangers of spamming comments, and used a house party as an analogy

If we own our posts like we own our house, shouldn't we be able to decide who comes to the party?
Wouldn't that keep everyone on their best behaviour?

Quick edit: Ed Sheeran just quit Twitter, sick of dealing with trolls.

What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

Wow! What a freaking great idea; I wish I had thought of this!! Please, please, link this on the comments in my article.

This is EXACTLY what I was talking about when linking super relevant content, I mean you didn't even link it and I'm here, and I read the whole damn thing.

I love the Fight Club analogy, it's true, just stand on the porch for a few days, get the vibe, and then Steem on.

Wish I could give you 3 randowhale votes for this one!

It's got me so pumped I'm going exclamation mark crazy I tells ya!!!!

!

!!

:-)

Cg

Thanks mate :)
I'm pretty enthusiastic about the idea too.
I've posted a link in the comments of your article. Let's see if it gets some traction.
I'd love to see it rolled out; it'd do a lot of good.

Yeah, let's hope so... I think the reason we haven't properly engaged before is coz you're in Oz, you're off to bed as I'm waking up :-)

Speaking of which, I gotta get off Steemit, and get little 'un ready for school!

Cg

untill steemit reaches 1M weshould not kill minnows like that jabal guy...we must all reach the 1M then after we set the rules on the first official version ... dont kill the spammy minnows we need them lol

I would love to see this option too; for a while I had no idea what I was doing but now this makes so much sense!

Exactly. Training wheels that keep you out of traffic :)

The reputation score is both a help and a hindrance.

I've been here for a couple of weeks and I've noticed that if one has a score of 50+ then people will upvote anything they post. It could be the last toenail they clipped onto the loungeroom rug and people will upvote because they know others will upvote so their curator payout will be higher and they get to score some points with someone with more voting influence.

If one's score is lower it is more difficult. I have been posting images of quite high quality (if I do say so myself) for 2 weeks. I get great feedback in lovely replies, but not as much upvoting as I might have expected. I believe this is because an upvote on my post is not a safe bet. It might not return a high curator payout and, worse, it might even bring their average down.

I don't know if there is a solution to this, and I'd be hesitant to offer one because I love the reputation score. One of my favourite things about Steemit is that my feed isn't clogged with cats and buzzfeed articles like my facebook feed and I believe it is the reputation score that maintains this awesomeness.

Please also don't take the above as sour grapes, I am just making an observation. I'll gladly do my time in the low ranks, continue posting quality content and slowly climb the social ladder... You know... If it's not too much of a risk for you to upvote my posts... :)

Wish that where true, that with the score from 50 plus. :)

Haha maybe it's just the impression looking from down her at sub-40 :) I was kind of hoping it were true, I have so many toenail clipping photos just ready to roll out...

lol and lol to the previous

Upvoted and followed.
I think there is quite a lot of that, although total followers makes a big difference too.
I think reputation is sometimes forgotten compared with other measures of success like steem power.
I'd like to see people trying to improve their rep to enjoy the privilege of commenting on more exclusive posts.
It would be a great reason to stay engaged during a price drop too.

Thanks Matt :)
I agree, I think the value of Steemit as a social media platform is in the quality of posts and the engagement of the audience, and I think Steem is a good motivator to post quality content, but I hope there is a way to stop people from trying to shortcut the system.
Really, quality content delivered to an engaged community should be its own reward, and the potential for money is a nice bit of icing on the cake :)

I'm all about the followers.
People trust me with their eyeballs, makes me happy.

I like that philosophy :)

Loading...

interesting concept, this would change things alot,

-even this brand new HF 19 that has been put in has seemed to slow my growth down, it seems like people are lot less willing to vote now, but I suppose thats what this Steem ocean is all about , adapting and learning to change swim patterns,

cheers @mattclarke

In my opinion some people will just never learn how to swim cause they don't want to. They're here for the money and They prefer to spam people than put a little bit of efford and write something valuable.

You're probably right, so this would be a spam filter to keep them from commenting rubbish on our posts, or it may inspire them to take a look at their behavior.

Thanks @mattclarke for your post that I had to read 2 times. You are making a point. But we noobs also need a maximum reputation slider or we will be wasting a lot of time of the experienced folks.

You're saying you write an article and prohibit anyone above a given reputation from commenting?
I don't follow how that would prevent high rep steemers from wasting their time.
They could still read the article.

I think this is a very practical solution to the problem. I mean if this is a platform based on quality content, and that is what we're rewarded for, then why not have a system where those who have earned it get to comment in the big leagues. I think it would decrease spam and raise the level of quality content in posts and comments. Great article @mattclarke!

Thankyou, Natasha.
I think a month after being added, it would be one of those features that people can't live without. Following.

Early bird Tash! Are you Steeming today?? I totally agree with you on this comment. This is why were all trying to get to a reputation of 100 - for a spam-free network. I hope to hit the elite club of 70 by the end of July?? Only 100 Steemers are at this level. You keep Steeming and you'll hit 60 before long, as your quality work has legs :) @mindhunter

Lol yes I am! Thanks @mindhunter for all your lovely support! I definitely hope to get to 60 soon, and am working on building my following and putting out lots of quality content :)

The best advice I can give you is swap them 10 SBD in your wallet for Steem, then power them up! Click on your SBD balance to convert them to Steem [Just a hint if you so wish??] Steem power is your biggest ally on Steemit - you've already got the quality writing part nailed Natasha :) I'm always here if you need any help. Steem on!!

Thanks @mindhunter! Really appreciate that :)

Once you get to 500 SP you'll be a dolphin like me :) Wanna be a whale? 100K+ SP! WOW!!

Oh I see :)

A new challenge awaits .... :)

thanks so much for the crumpet money haha :) You're sweet

Just trying to bring some civilization to the new world, enjoy :)

I am in favor of a minimum reputation score to comment on a post. That sounds like a sound suggestion and prove beneficial. Though with hF19 I wonder if that would compliment or cause concerns as with the change in upVotes. Intriguing concept though. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

I think it will be great to have a reputation slider bar as this will allow newbies to grow together and learn more of the platform. I guess those who did not research the platform thoroughly and is only after reputation and quick money is causing those troubles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00