Little fish can get really big, really quick.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

There seems to be a pervading image of minnows as pre-useful; each of little immediate consequence.
Hapless beginners, plodding and grinding through months and years of content creation and curation to slowly build their steempower until their upvote becomes valuable.
This mindset ignores that these are real people, with lives and a history outside of steemit.


https://www.flickr.com/photos/budslife/1771179517

They have back-stories, and since they're here early, there's a good chance they were into bitcoin early.
Some of them likely bought or mined bitcoin hand-over-fist back when a pizza was worth a full day's block rewards.
Perhaps they're sitting on a big sack of swag, and are looking for options to diversify without contaminating their wealth in the fiat/legacy system.
I've been here a month, and spent most of that time judging the viability of the concept broadly, and this example of its execution, specifically.
While most of my crypto is still held in btc, I powered up US$2K yesterday, and I'm seriously contemplating doubling it.
This isn't an act of generosity, (I see more growth potential in steemit than in bitcoin, at least over the two years it would take to power down), and I'm still in the little leagues, but it's certainly a promising development for those I follow. (If you're heading to my wallet to check, feel free to hit 'follow' on your way out)
We all hope a minnow follower writes a great article and hits a jackpot; but have you asked yourself just how many of your minnows are actually big players who just haven't pushed their chips in yet?
This is what I love about this platform. There are so many ways to succeed.

I post an article and go to bed.
When I wake up in the morning

I may have collected some new followers; the more the merrier.
I may have been upvoted by a whale or two, and made some SMD/SP
Either of the above can be true of any of my 50 followers, which boosts their SP and benefits me over the long term; or...
One of my followers may have powered up into dolphin, or even whale territory, investing a big sack of outside money he's been sitting on while doing due diligence over the last few weeks or months.

We have to remember that we know nothing of others here, except what they choose to share.

Luck is where opportunity meets preparation - Seneca the younger

Have a fantastic day

Imgur

Sort:  

Exactly. Invested some fiat into bitcoin into SP last week. It's a good risk/reward trade and I like that I now add atleast .01 to all the people I upvote.

"Victory Loves Preparation"

It certainly gives a heightened sense of engagement with the platform. Skin in the game.

I think you may have something there ;)
Watch this space too... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30