A suggested tool to demystify curation rewards

in #steemit8 years ago

I really wish I had the technical skill to build this tool myself, and I apologise if its already been suggested.

Post rewards are fairly simple to comprehend, but curation rewards are a little more difficult.

I think less technically minded users would benefit from a calculator/simulator tool, where they can adjust one variable at a time, by using sliders, and/or cells to see how changing different variables affect the curation reward an upvote will receive.

It could help clarify lingering questions like,

I've already upvoted about 30 times this afternoon, am I hurting my rewards if I keep going?

I have half a bitcoin here, if I power that up, how will that increase my curation rewards?

I don't really like to come back to a post. How badly will my reward suffer if I upvote after 10 mins, or 20?

I think that post is going to the moon, and I was 1st to upvote. Would I have been better off waiting another 5 mins, even if that meant I was 2nd? What if it meant I was 3rd?

I'm no coder, (I made this in Apache open office, then copy/pasted into paintbrush to save and upload to imgur) but I can't imagine it would be too difficult for the right guy to build.

Thoughts or suggestions?

Sort:  

indeed it could be very useful tool, noted down, in case I may add this to eSteem :)

Thanks good-karma. It just came to me today so I'm sure there's plenty of room for refinement.
The end result may look very different, but it's the concept that matters at first.

yes, I like the concept of showing user how they are contributing for reward of the post.

good,solid thoughts. hope you attention from the right people. ^^

I have met people who almost never vote, seriously maybe 20 vote per week. ONLY because they are worried about voting rewards and penalties. When they vote its like 1%. lol

legit.

find me on steem.chat

Funnily enough, that day's rewards are still being 100% distributed, non voters are just losing the opportunity to pick the winners, and missing out on a share of the curation rewards.

which says nothing about the quality of the post being 'curated'.

Not sure I follow. 'Quality' being subjective, good curation will reward good quality.
If the slider for 'total payout' is off to the left, the others don't really matter.

Is curation not an apt term for the process? I didn't look into it myself, but that seems to be what everyone else is calling it.

In my opinion it's not. I'd say 'processing' is a more correct term. A post is identified, processed, YOU make money off of it. That process (especially when it's done by a bot and no person even looks at the post in question) does NOT speak to the quality of the post.

Perhaps we should 'process' a post then THEN curate it?
I dunno...just my opinion.

GD everittmicky why you say things that make me soo happy and other days you piss me right off. Haha.

reminds me kept following you. haha

keep em coming dude.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44