The five Stages of Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Stage One: Disbelief

Nobody is really making thousands of dollars for blog posts. You can't get the money out though right you have to keep it there, no bitcoin or usd exchange. Oh you can do that? Sure you can, let me see the money. How? Does anybody even accept Steem for goods or services?

Stage Two: Greed

Well its probably a scam but I will just make a bunch of money and run before it collapses. What kinds of posts do whales like again? Lets go fishing for the rare and illusive green backed whale. Containing within them the Steem power of a thousand suns. The green backed whales were thought to be nothing more than legend until that one comment or post.

Stage Three: Disillusionment

It's been a while since I've gotten a whale up-vote it must be a scam but that's ok I'll cash out to Bitcoin soon anyway.
What? that post is crap how did that guy make 8 grand for that! I'm gonna leave angry comments. Screw it ill just go curate all day.

Stage Four: Due Diligence

Lets look in to these mechanics further because I have to know if this is real now. I can't sit back and use this platform without understanding the ins and outs of its algorithms and incentives. I must now keep up with the github to see how the devs respond to hacks and malicious activity. I'm beginning to doubt this is just another alt-coin scam.

Stage Five: OMFG

This is not a scam. Content really is worth money. Steemit is the first platform to truly monetize individual content. We should be able to vote on where new USD is allocated not just presidents! Steemit is setting a new internet and banking precedent at the same time!

Sort:  

My progression:

  1. It's a scam. They're gonna pump and dump, no one will use it but us silly anarchists, etc.
  2. BUT WHERE DOES THE MONEY COME FROM FOR REAL?
  3. Ok, I'll start reading articles here, maybe make a post every now and then, try and understand the mechanics of it.
  4. My stuff isn't paying out. This isn't a Facebook killer. Back to shitposting with my friends.
  5. I'm an idiot, I need to stick with this.

Currently on step 6, getting back into the game.
Still, though. It's too bad there aren't a lot of anime lovers following my shit.

That shit is so on point. We all see it every day with ourselves, the people we follow and the new folks after they start. I'm sure Stage 6 would be like the 36th Chamber: Spreading the Teachings to other Crypto.

Hey did you know some of that money Facebook and Twitter make off you, could be like in your pocket yo.

Exactly... "Man, with your amount of followers on Instagram, you could be making some real Vigilante paper, dawg! Forget 'do it for the gram'... do it for the GRANDS"

Lol stage 6 is: OMFG! I need to tell everyone about this! "Hi, have you heard of our savior Steemit? It will revolutionalize the world! See, what it does is..."

I basically did this to a random guy on the street last night. He was all like "excuse me, you seem like you would be interesting to talk to." I was like "why yes, have you head of Steemit?"

Here, Here!! dead-on (i hope) LOL im just a minnow XD

Skepticism is good in the early stages of any upcoming platform in my opinion, That way in case it fails you wont be as disappointed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54