You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facebook vs Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm on steemit for the exact reasons you stated. about 5 years ago I stopped frequently checking facebook because I was just sick of comparing myself to people, it's toxic on the brain. That happens on steemit for sure too when you see a successful author, but it's different because of the anonymity and judgment of people on their actions instead of image like you stated. I'm trying to get as many people on steemit as I can, just got my girlfriend to sign up she's waiting to be approved. That can take a while too! Sitting down and spending some time collecting your thoughts and writing is just healthier for you. steemit over facebook any day of the week

Sort:  

Exactly, FB was incredibly toxic for my wife. Then she quit about 5 years ago and was happier. I thought it didn't affect me, but now that I have really stopped, it feels great!

I'm trying to get my wife to sign up, but she is dubious about it. She reckons she's just not interesting enough to have stuff to write about. But I think she has lots of interests that would like to write a bit about, and find others that are interested.

Like you said, finding the place of mind and clarity of thought to write a few hundred words is really soothing.

I was going through that same thing your wife did when I first signed up. It wasn't until I was making my intro post that I thought I hmm I guess I've heard a lot of music and its always floating around in my head, I guess I'll write about that. I hope she ends up getting signed up and writing, good luck!

Yes, I keep telling her that there are things that she is interested in (like yoga and furniture making, amongst other things) that are interesting to other people. She is also a pianist....

Yeah, I deleted my fb account back in 2012. I left because I didn't like the direction the site was taking after the IPO. From what I gather, it sounds like I dodged a bullet!

Yep, you didn't miss out on anything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60767.58
ETH 2376.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57