13 Days On Steemit: So Am I Understanding Upvotes right?

in #steemit7 years ago

Okay so I've read numerous posts and guides to understanding how steemit works. This place is still a bit confusing. Could someone clarify if my understanding about upvotes is right?

~ You upvote peoples' posts if you like them and your vote helps the person earn money.

~ You shouldn't upvote like crazy because you having voting power. The more you vote, the less your vote is worth. Only vote for posts you think are worthy of it. This helps promote the idea of constructing good quality posts to earn upvotes.

~ I should only give about 20 votes per 24 hours because after that my voting power starts to diminish. A few others have said to stop around 20.

~ People who are higher ranked have more power. Since I'm a newbie my votes probably aren't worth much.

~ ? I shouldn't be the first one to vote for a post because I'm new? Is this right? Since I'm new me voting first will cause someone's post to earn very little. If a whale voted first that person would earn a lot more.

Question: So I had one post earn $12.32 for 165 upvotes. I had another earn $0.84 with 236 votes. How is that explained?

Question: Are votes for comments counted as the same as for posts? If I upvote for comments on posts will that diminish my voting power for posts too?

Question: When I make posts I automatically see I've voted for my own post without me actually voting? Should I take the vote off because I feel weird voting for my own post. A few posted without the vote but for the most part they all automatically have my vote

So am I getting this right? Anyone want to correct my understanding? Any help would be appreciated.

Sort:  

The more Steem Power someone has, the more of a reward they can give. If you get 50 votes from me, that might give you $1.50. 50 votes from yourself might give you 1 cent. Not every vote carries the same weight. That's why you can get paid more with less votes. It depends on who's voting. Don't feel left out though. Steem Power adds up over time.

I often murder my voting power voting on comments I receive in my blog, so yes, voting on comments does have an effect on voting power.

I've self voted on every post I've published. It was automatic since day one so I thought that's just what we do.

You have it right, for the most part. This part:

I shouldn't be the first one to vote for a post because I'm new? Is this right? Since I'm new me voting first will cause someone's post to earn very little. If a whale voted first that person would earn a lot more.

... I'm not really sure of.

The people who did the 165 upvotes had much more power than the 236 upvotes, thus the discrepancy in money earned. I'm not too sure about the other two though :)

It doesn't matter if you vote first on a post, if whale votes later, the post will still earn a lot. If more users with a lot of Steem power vote, the reward will start increasing significantly. Your $12 post was probably upvoted by Curie guild that helps in discovering fresh authors and their undervalued posts. You can vote more, probably 40+ votes per day with 100% power and you'll be fine. :) Comments are like posts so all rules apply there. And, of course, there's nothing wrong with voting on your own posts, almost everyone does it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48