You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smaller accounts should get the voting slide bar too!

in #steemit7 years ago

Good post, thank you! I joined a week before HF19 and was upvoting everything I found valuable (a lot!) but it wasn't worth 0.01 anyway. After HF19 suddenly the values went up after I voted, so that was even more awesome. Then they stopped going up as I lost voting power, and -of course- I stopped upvoting as much.

Then I found beta.chainbb.com where you do have a slider (replace steemit.com with beta.chainbb in any steemit link and you can comment, and upvote (with a slider) e.g. this post on chainbb would have this url: https://beta.chainbb.com/steemit/@rocking-dave/smaller-accounts-should-get-the-voting-slide-bar-too

Now I have been funneling my sbd to Steem, powering up, as well as getting delegated SP from @minnowbooster. You can send steem and get delegated SP back (65 times the steem to SP for one week, or 100 times the steem to SP over the span of four weeks. E.g.: transfer one steem, get 65 SP for a week. Or send 4 steem, get 100 SP for four weeks (any amount goes, of course)

It got me over the 500 SP within a few weeks and I have to say not only is that slider very useful, it also feels good to see my upvote being worth more and more :)

May be a bit late to your post, but hope it's useful for soe minows out there!

(and following back with pleasure, btw, not because of follow-for-follow ;)

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your two cents ;)

@xyzashu actually pointed me to this post by @timcliff which points out that if we vote 40 times a day, our voting power will drop to 25% and balance out there, so we would be effectively getting the same experience as with the voting slider permanently set there. And if you vote a bit less, your voting power will manage to climb a bit higher. The only difference is that we wouldn't really be able to give more valuable votes, so we still have less freedom than the accounts with more steem power around here. Still, the difference between a 1 cent upvote and 3 or 4 cent one is not that big though large percentagewise.

I read that post and understand the maths - I just find it, in a way, more satisfying to see my upvotes being worth something to somebody. The difference is big enough I think, when you come from actually not seeing a post rise in value after your upvote, to actually gaining, 1, 2, 3 or more cents. And I still have that feeling, and hope to see my upvote being worth more and more. That's why I power up and get delegated SP, it's just too much fun! :)

But I guess the point was to find either ways of getting around the slider, or to find a balance in upvoting/voting power. And i think everybody on here will have to find a balance for him/herself: grind it out getting your SP to 500, using esteem or chainbb (a bit annoying but effective), or getting delegated SP

Very well put! I remember when my upvote was worth zero cents, it was really frustrating and it felt like my upvote was useless. Now when it varies between one and four, it's more satisfying, but I would surely like to get my numbers up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43