You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Invite to UK Bloggers and Influencers to Join the Steemit Community

in #steemit7 years ago

Im finding it hard to get people on here. I tell them to join if they have something to say or are creative and they just seem to take the idea and throw it away. I think there is an element of "disbelief" to it. Highly frustrating. How do you drag these people away from instagram and facebook?

Sort:  

With great difficulty, Mark. FB etc are well established and have many attractive functions. As soon as we mention "crypto" people not invested in blockchain turn off. There is a disbelief and even my screenshots of my very reasonable earnings are not enticing them. I especially avoided sharing the earnings of the whales in order to make it look more realistic, but even revealing that one blog post made me an extra $500 USD has had little impact...so far

I waited 3 months to show that this is not a flash in the pan or scam, but I do expect to hear "bubble", "pyramid scheme" and "ponzi' directed at me, like I do with my crypto investing (I'm a hodler)

However, I will say this. How many Steemians use FB to promote their blogs? How many times are we redirected to Discord or other off Steemit platforms? How many of use will search for Steemit posts on Google rather than the Steemit search engine? How many of us are aware of (or confident enough to use) the various supporting tools? I could go on, but this has actually encouraged me to learn more as I am showing my ignorance.

I do genuinely believe that Steemit will continue to grow and that more will migrate over to us. However, I don't know if we are close to them giving up FB or instagram.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51