You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Top Five Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit? Good Question

in #steemit6 years ago

I think these posts are definitely helping us all to get to know a few more witnesses and also to consider what is important for us. Even voting for a few puts you way ahead of most people here on Steemit...

Sort:  

I agree. For what it's worth, anyway. Like a lot of other things around here, SP matters, and so the larger SP users have a lot of say as to who's in the top 20 plus one. That's not to say that we can't have a say, but it's not very democratic right now. I believe though, the more we know, the more we can change, and overtime, our SP will grow until we're more influential. If we've been a part of the process, learning it incrementally, I think that's way better than just doing what we do and then being blindsided with whatever changes. Not easy to keep up, though. Things tend to get scattered around here. :)

Well, there is also the mass factor. Many smaller SP accounts add up. But pretty much everything on here is linked to the almighty SP...

I do believe in a mass factor. I'm just not sure if it's through SP the mass factor shows up. But it could show up in other ways, like more and more people reducing their usage of bidbots or delegation leasing. I don't know how that happens en masse, but no one needs SP to walk away from those things. You probably need something worth more than SP: knowledge and action.

Don't think that is going to happen. So many people on here make most of their payouts through bit bots. and are teaching it in courses as the way to succeed.
Bitbots are here to stay and are part of the business side of Steemit.
Personally, I only use the ones which are geared towards minnows and give you a guaranteed upvote. Not really bitbots. but bots. like tundercurator and qustodian. I don't feel like playing the game of knowing when to bit and whn not to. And I don't have enough money to afford to lose any...

Yeah, I know. It would require more organization and centralization of information than what's currently available. And since there's not a whole lot of incentive to do it (meaning rewards), it would be all volunteer to try to implement something like that.

I don't think most of us who haven't at least reached the size of a dolphin have enough to regularly afford bots, and even then, not to any great magnitude. That's just it. If you have to get to the trending page to be seen, but you can't get to the top without 100s of SBD, then what really is it doing, other than providing a little bit of rewards for the author and curator?

I'm not giving up on no bots yet. I don't know how they go away, though. I'm just stubborn. :)

hahaha - stubborn is good here. To keep on keeping on :)

I never look at the trending page. People are either there because the had money to buy votes or they are the ones who started a long time ago and have tons of people sucking up to them. So, my vote is not going to make a difference to them or to me in curation rewards. and they won't notice me either.
I do follow people who make it to the trending page, but I came across them somewhere else.... :)

I can't quite figure out who all is supposed to be looking at the trending page, other than those who routinely check it so they can complain, and new users. That's got to be it. The rest of us know what it is and don't waste our time. So, the ones who have to be perpetuating the myth of getting to the trending page must be the bot owners and some of the heavy users because they're the ones who have a vested interest in their perpetuation.

At some point, I'd hope they'd just end up spending their money on themselves and eventually have a net loss because no one really wants to know how much they think their own posts are worth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47