What's going on?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've been on Steemit for 20 days by now and I still don't understand it.

Let me openly admit that the main reason for me joining Steemit was sharing my photos and hopefully earning some money doing what I like. I understood it's been done by people voting for each other. So, here I am voting all over the place even thought my vote is not valid; but still ... you know what I mean.

On the other hand I post things and a very few people stop by. I understand that it could be also because I am new here, been around 20 days only. I also embrace the idea that my posts are not so fancy or interesting, so people do not bother and that's perfectly ok.

What I do not understand is (happened with almost every post of mine!) people commenting on my posts saying how beautiful and awesome it is but they do not upvote that very same post!!! ❓❗ Excuse me? WTF?!? ❓❗ Am I missing something?!? ❗❓❗

I might sound really annoying right now but commenting and complimenting without upvoting is something I find really disturbing: like so many shades of disturbing that I can go on about this forever. Except that I want.

P.S: I'm just taking to myself again wondering is it just me or... I am really confused.

Well, have a wonderful weekend everyone.

Sort:  

I have noticed this and its getting worse. I always vote and would never leave a comment without voting, when this happens to me I do the same to them.

Hi @karenb54.
I've noticed this too, it's a bit over the top. They are everywhere, all over the posts, commenting but not upvoting. I wonder are those people here on purpose to undermine the whole thing?!?

I am unsure why they would do that, just keep an eye on what's happening , if someone leaves a comment and doesn't vote I will do the same back

In the begning of any social media account, your objective is to provide content that has value in order to create an audiance. You build the following, you keep providing value with your post, and the money will follow.

I understand that. I hope it is clear from what I wrote above.
I'm not complaining about not having many upvotes or followers; I also said I think my posts are not of so much value.

What's bothering me is why people feel like commenting & complimenting how awesome your post is but they do not upvote it? That was my question.

Just keep posting as much good content as you can and steem will start rolling in at some point.

Thank you.
English is not my mother tongue, so it seems I didn't explain well what's bothering me.
It's not money, it's not followers or small number of upvotes: What's bothering me is why people come to the post commenting & complimenting how awesome your post is but they do not upvote it? That was my question.
Some things I'll newer understand. ;)

That is because upvoting costs energy and commenting does not but both actions can earn you steem.

You explained perfectly well.

Voting seems to be slack at the moment. Most people only get 10% of their followers to vote, if that.

I don't know what causes this reluctance to curate. Maybe it is a concern for voting power, maybe people think their vote isn't worth much anyway, maybe people prefer to keep their voting power for upvoting themselves, maybe people just can't be bothered to curate the people they follow.

Writing a positive comment without a vote is a bit ridiculous, I think. I tend to ignore those who do that.

Thank you @ocrdu. ☺

I think those people should be ignored, too. I got so pissed last night when found another one that I immidiately mute that person straight away. I might be overreacting but such behavior drives me mad.
You are so right on that as well as on the observation that "writing a positive comment without a vote is a bit ridiculous". It really is, not just a bit but a lot. ;)

Congratulations @maria444! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50