You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Missing FAQ - A Beginners Guide To Using Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for the info. As a newbie your post is the perfect introduction to getting started on Steemit.

I would like to ask a question - what happens to the images on the post if the image hosting sites for what ever reasons goes down and is no longer available?

Sort:  

It doesn't matter because Steemit keeps a copy of them all stored to guard against that.

Are you sure? I don't think they do. Steemit doesn't provide any server space for files, which is the reason we need the external links in the first place. Would be kind of strange if they still stored the images and videos. I believe Steemit only saves the links, so if the image hosting site dies, so will the images in Steemit posts.

Yes I know they do.

Browsing through the older posts, I saw a post that has embedded a video except that it is blank (I assume it was hosted on Youtube and was taken down). Is this because the post was an old post in the early days of Steemit and that is no longer the case?

I don't know. The link may have stopped working if the video went offline but it is hard to say without checking the actual video.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62