You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT Bot Guide: Steemit Bots for Dummies

in #steemit6 years ago

Thank you for the great post and expressing reserve when using bots. I have recently been taking a very anti-upvote bot stance as I feel it is a huge danger to the future of steem, especially as these services continue to grow, and more and more people, both honest, and not so honest, find their way to the platform. Yes, on one hand, no one likes to put hours or days of effort into a post, just to see it earn couple of cents and slip away in to the abyss. However I have been wondering lately, what is to stop a future of steem where one will be paying $5000 to 'promote' a selfie. We all know how self serving social media in general is, combined with the temptation of vast rewards, this could be a serious problem for the future of Steem.
-Anyway great post, and I would also like to add GINAbot to the list, my new favorite bot - she tells you when you get followed, upvoted, mentioned, or almost anything else and sends you a DM on Discord chat.

Sort:  

the use of bots means that those who pay get attention, regardless if they have good content or not .. its not about quality, its about money .. and there we have the motto of steemit: Money Talks ... I guess that doesnt bother some people but I think the bots work against the community. If we took away bots, @grumpycat's schtick wouldnt work .. I think s(he) has only posted blog entries 7 times ...

@praugepainter WOW mind blown...'money talks' I never considered it's dual meaning.

Yes, GINA bot is great.

When I started writing this post the idea was to include GINA bot actually, I just forgot about it and ended up not including, but I definitely feel it is worth a mention.

That danger is something I already thought about myself.

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48