Is the proliferation of fluff posts damaging Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

stop flooding.jpg

I've done it; posted several blogs in a day (although one or two of them were asking for assistance)... some do it in hopes of getting more likes and a larger payout. Some do it because they've stumbled across something extra awesome and feel the urge to share it with others.

Whatever the reason, it makes me wonder if the onslaught of posts from authors is detrimental to the health of Steemit, as both a community and as a means to make money.

For those who post things, such as random videos from Youtube; wouldn't a digest post (a single posts with many vids and commentary or an introduction to each one) be more beneficial than flooding people's feeds? For example in my feed, out of the first twenty posts listed, almost a dozen of them are from a single user. To me, flooding the feeds of followers alienates other posts and users by pushing them down the feed.

When Poloniex held my funds in crypto-purgatory, I made more posts than I usually do in a single day-- and I try to post no more than three times a day just so I don't flood feeds with posts most probably won't read. But that's just me.

And so I sit here and ponder what the healthiest balance is; because if it's actions such as flooding feeds that ultimately dilute the community aspect of Steemit, then we should consider how to remedy that situation so people don't get frustrated their posts are sliding and not garnering attention.

What are your thoughts on the frequency of posting? Is it better for Steemit when people post more often or on a lesser scale? Are you more likely to read a digest post or go through individual posts from a prolific poster?

Thank you much for reading this tangent!

Sort:  

If a user can create multiple high quality -- or even relatively good quality -- posts in a day, then it doesn't matter to me how much they post. But I find it irritating when my feed is full of copied and pasted video links and news articles that the person sharing doesn't even bother to provide commentary on. However, not much I can do about that besides scroll on by in search of the good stuff.

That's my main complaint; it's just copy and paste-- nothing that makes it unique, no commentary, nothing. Made me wonder what would be the appropriate protocol/etiquette for posting good content. Found out today I'm more likely than not to skip over multiple posts from the same author because by giving them a sizable chunk of my votes, I'm not helping the community at large, just that poster.

HF19 has given me much to ponder (like how much I dislike scrolling in search of something that stands out)... at least it's an adventure in finding the good stuff.

To the good stuff!

I probably average three a day, but they're all very different, and they're dwarfed by the number of comments I leave and replies I answer, so I don't feel like there's anything particularly spammy about them. They're all signal, zero noise.

You're right that the feeds can get clogged. That's actually one reason I post more than once in a day. Even with 350 followers, to get the core fifty or so that read everything I post, I think I need to be on their feeds more than once a day, so they'll see me. But maybe that's the wrong thing to do. I don't know. And anyway, what's the alternative? Post restrictions seems antithetical to the purpose of the site. But, again, maybe not. What's your thinking?

Well said, I also have dozens of posts by several authors that are basically a YouTube video link with a single line of text. Not a fan of this lazy posting, there's little or no value here. Certainly, there are a few exceptions but rarely.

There is much repeat and reposting going on. Many posts also dilutes the voting process: too much to curate. My main concern is the reputation hoggers: https://steemit.com/steemit/@wekkel/steemit-are-we-just-upvoting-the-most-reputable-steemers

But I realise I am not paying to post here and no one forces me to join. So as long as I find good info here, why not?

Personally, I liked it when there was a no more than 4 posts a day rule. Not sure how it exactly worked (because I never posted more than 2 posts during the course of 24 hours), but I think that the account who wouldn't respect it got a penalty on his/her payouts.

On the other hand, there is always the risk for the person who will flood others' feeds incessantly to be ''unfollowed'' by its possibly annoyed followers, thing which could also be seen as an incentive to be moderate on quantity of posting.

So ''the market'' probably is getting things even all by itself.

only two today :)

I believe that the users will eventually start their own filter by tags, other users, categories, topics, etc. till one day the #copy/paste warriors will extinguish their selves by means of elimination from upvotes, right now, maybe even they don't know it (mainly because they are new and/or unwilling to spend time learning the rules) they are earning mostly #rewards for number of comments, posts, etc. Once they get to a stall and learn that they can only earn so much maybe they will mature or slowly fade out in the fog of the "steem"...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54