The Golden Apple Award - The Very First Winner - Happy Steemiversary, Snekky!!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

For the last few weeks, it has been my privilege to work with and get to know @poeticsnake, a.k.a. Snekky, a fellow Steemian who started the "You Got Snekked" curation initiative a few months ago. There are very few regular Steemit bloggers who haven't seen her Snekked comments around the steemiverse.

Through her efforts, she has helped dozens of little fish 🐡 feel just that little bit more motivated to keep on swimming. As she'll tell you though, fish of all sizes deserve manual curation, so bigger minnows 🐟 and even dolphins 🐬 are not ignored nor immune to the bite of the Snek! 🐍

A few days ago, she and I came up with an idea... The Golden Apple Award. This award would be granted once a month to a VSP (Very Snek-like Person) and the prize would be a generous amount of SBD, maybe some delegation, and of course being featured in a post. And what is a VSP? Well, it would be someone who is an all-round excellent Steemian. Things like quality of content, types of comments and replies to comments, general engagement and how they use their vote will all be looked at. The general focus will be on how much effort the person puts in to make Steemit a better place for everyone.

The idea is still in development, but for now, I have taken it upon myself to choose the very first winner of the Golden Apple Award.

Snekky herself!

Today, she is celebrating her 2nd steemiversary here on Steemit, and after all, if there is anyone who is possessed of the most excellent quality of being Snek-like, it is @poeticsnake herself 😉

HAPPY 2ND STEEMIVERSARY SNEKKY!
And congratulations on being the very first Golden Apple Award winner!
🍎 🍏 🏆 🍾 🎇 🎈

The total prize pool came to 44 SBD and 5 Steem!

Really and truly, you deserve this award. Not only because it's your Steem birthday, but because of what you bring to the Steemit platform, and how you strive to help others as you continue on your own journey here. Whoever feels your friendly, snekky bite, is not likely to soon forget it! But let's not take my word for it... Let's hear from some people who know you...



"Big congrats for your 2 year steemiversary Snekky. The time and effort you’ve put in to this platform is absolutely priceless. Words can’t express the difference you make in all our lives - your generosity knows no bounds. It feels like it was only yesterday I felt the sweet venom running through my veins from your generous snek bite! Something I shan’t forget.
Keep up the great work Snekky ... We love you!"

~ @thomasrobertgent

"Congrats on your anniversary, I do not know you personally but commend the great work you are doing, bringing value to not just the people whose day you make a bit better be it via "you got snekked" or in the communities you are a part of, but also bringing value to steem by promoting and encouraging quality content, you are someone worth looking towards when one asks how to be a great steemian."

~ @penderis

"Hey Snekky. I first encountered you when I was a guest on @ma1neevent’s show. You were a guest on the same episode and were in the audience when the pre-recorded interviews aired. I thought you were someone pretty cool and that I should learn more about you. So, I started following your blog. I learned you were a very creative and intelligent person. After I started talking to you on discord I learned that you were creative, intelligent and a very warm and caring person. A person I love to call a friend. I’m glad you’re still here after two years and look forward to many more with you. Happy Steemiversary."

~ @shadowspub

"Dearest Snekky, hearty congratulations on the completion of your second trip around the steemy sun. I've met a lot of people here, but there are are only a couple I would fly around the world to have supper with, and you were the first! Now when you consider the magnitude of that, and consider that I actually plan to do it AGAIN, well that makes you pretty special, now doesn't it? :smiley: :heart: Congratulations and happy steemiversary darlin' - Love SirCork"_

~ @sircork

"Happy second Steemversary Snekky, with love from your ratty 🐭 fufunchi friend Priscilla."

~ @yidneth

"For my friend and fellow dutchy @poeticsnake, I would love to congratulate you with you 2 years of being an awesome Steemian. You are always contributing to the bigger picture of Steem and always trying to put up very cool initiatives of helping OTHERS to grow. Thank you for everything and hopefully we will meet somewhere for a Dutchy conversation about Steem and life! Houdoe en bedankt!"

~ @karinxxl

"The world does not revolve around any of us, Yet, Each has their own world. There is so much I do not know about Snekky's world. I fear for any words I may use. I do know however, Laughing and Apples are things Snekky likes. This brings me some concern. For Snekky world, I'd say she is a princess. Princess Snow white. (who loved apples) She is just awakening now from her years of slumber. Steemit's kiss broke the spell, and gave all our worlds brighter days. On behalf of The Hive and personally from Jan23com, Snekky, You are the silver lining behind the dark clouds of doubt Steemit days can sometimes bring."

~ @jan23com

"My goodness! Where to start?! When @Mandelsage approached me about combining our Snek's 2nd steemiversary with the very first Golden Apple Award, I couldn't think of a better person! Over my 8 months on Steemit, I cannot understate the amount of support I received from her! I remember the first time we talked. It was over a Whaleshares Promote Your Post show, and after she learned I made music and art, she invited me onto her Snek and Ma1ne show. It felt so great that someone appreciated my craft enough to let me share it with new people. She has created something that helps people get recognition and feel accepted, and the feeling that comes with that is beyond words. I am so proud to be apart of this amazing team she has created, and the fact she has built so much positive for the community, it is easy for anyone to see she deserves this prestigious new award! Thank you so much for all you do, Snekky!!! We all love you 💖"

~ @falseyedols

"Hello Snekky! I hear it is your second birthday here on Steemit and I want to send you my best wishes! I think you have done so much good for this platform with your many projects and creativity, Steemit is blessed to have you :smiley: I hope you have a great Snekky birthday and I wish you many more to come!"

~ @juliakponsford

"Snekky - You know I love snakes and cute little bunnies!"

~ @enginewitty

"My Dearest Snekky, you are the cutest apple and cookie thief in the forest. You are a great friend and a super fun person to have in my life. You have a very rare ability to make work fun and light and not seem like work at all. Love you to bits! ~Love, Bug!"

~ @thebugiq

"Congratulations on your 2 year Steemiversary =) - Though I don't know you well, I love what you are doing for the steem platform and commend you on your efforts to engage others and help them grow. Cheers to you and all you are doing."

~ @andysantics48

"Happy Steemiversary Snekky! May this next year be full of love and crypto!"

~ @artemisnorth

"Keep dreaming Snekky. Thanks for being a wonderful and generous member of the community."

~ @patrice

"A big shout out to @PoeticSnake. Thank you for everything you do for so many of us on the platform! You are an amazing person and my favorite snek!"

~ @Ma1neEvent



A big, BIG thank you to all the people I contacted today for coming together and making this possible for our dear friend. It was really short notice too, so my apologies to anyone I contacted who would have helped but didn't see my message in time!

Lastly, 50% of any rewards on this post is going to be donated
to the next Golden Apple Award prize pool.

Bye for now!

Sort:  

Congratulations Snekky and well done @mandelsage for making such a shrewd and informed pick!!

It does not happen a lot that I am searching for words to express what I feel or want to say!
WOW!
First of all, Thank you so much Mandelsage for doing this! I am just so touched and my heart just exploded with so much emotions! You rock dude and I love you!

Thank you everybody for saying all the nice words! I feel so warm and emotional right now! I will contact you all personally to say my thanks first thing tomorrow morning after coffee!

YOu all make my Steemit life amazing and I am sure you all touch others as well in the same way!
Keep doing that because together we can make this place amazing for every soul no matter where they come from!

Much love and apples for you all!

XXX Snekky

bitmoji-20180723094256.png

I wasn't here for this celebration of your Steemiversary... what a shame, but better late than never :D. I posted my thanks in my birthday post, but I'm going to say it here too, since it belongs with all the others. Thanks for slithering around Steemit and making everyone's lives a little better!

🤘🍏🤘 so thoughtful for you to do this @mandelsage

We love you @poeticsnake 🐀♥️🐍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46