Steem at 1.21$ post payouts increasing?

in #steemit7 years ago

Looks like the price is holding up nicely and after yesterday's bump north allthough with low volume I can only expect that post payouts will increase all around for quality content publishers. 

A good reason to start to really think about being creative and writing some fantastic posts!

I keep checking the trending page and still am seeying the same users getting the big payouts time and time again. Mostly with 70+rep and with quite a bit of bot voting behind them. I think we must all take more time and effort as far as curating is concerned. Obviously some very interesting things are at the very top of the earners list but there are enough exceptions to this rule to make us reconsider using autovoter and doing manual curation. I still use @autovoter for a few votes every day but Im considering going 100% organic

So do you think post payouts will increase further due to the price increase of the price of Steem?

Don't forget to follow @mallorcaman if you like my posts!

Sort:  

The increased price of steem increases the value of the daily reward pool. But it also draws more people to Steemit. So I think more people will be able to earn a little money but the actual amount earned over a given amount of time, per person, might actually stay about the same, all things being equal.

I manually curate every day. But I am finding more and more people I like and follow here. The math only allows a certain number of votes a day because each vote decreases voting power a little. So I am voting more each day, because I find more good posts to vote, but my power has gone from the 80s % to the 70s to the 60s and now to the 50s because I find more than 40 posts and comments a day to up vote. If I were voting with 100% power I would see each vote have more effect now on each post I vote for. But since I vote more, I actually see about the same amount of effect even though my power is less, because the amount of the reward pool my SP allows me to allocate is worth more now due to the higher steem price. Or something like that! :-)

To summarize, the reward pool is worth more, but the number of people it is divided among is higher. So maybe each person will still see about the same payouts, except for the very popular people. They will continue to get higher payouts because people know their vote for them will get a curation reward. Further, newbies with low SP can only get any curation reward at all if they vote on high paying posts, so the minnows tend to vote the trending articles too, just to have an effect here.

OK, I am done! Sorry for the ramble :-)

Excelent point, Im carefull about my voting power once it gets to the low 80's I stop voting all together or reduce to 30% but I guess with all the new users coming to steemit that only makes sense about the distributed of the overall pool for payouts. In any case those big earners on the trending page are making more now than they did a few weeks ago Im quite sure.

Thanks so much for your fantastic detailed comment/reply @kenny-crane

We'll see how this plays out. When the price of Steem increased last time, we saw huge power downs without an offset of users. If enough users don't offset the power downs, the price of Steem will be headed South.

This is why I try to curate the people who power up their posts fully with 100% vote. They're helping us stabilize the price from crashing.

Yeah I really hate that I switched to 50/50 posts normally I also always tried to curate posts that paid out purely in steempower.

100% manual curation!

Its the best way, Im thinking about going fulltime on Steemit for the time being. If I can earn enough to survive on I might not have to get a fulltime job for the time being.

That would be my dream too!

I've stopped doing auto voter.

I find that following good authors and voting for "hot" content i like works better for me.

But even better than that is a category that is so fun it makes you forget you are upvoting: #steemitcampfire

Yeah I think Im going to eliminate all my autovotes later today or tomorrow. I als noticed that people I have had on autovote for months now dont bother to read, comment or upvote any of my posts so F... them :) I prefer to manually curate hell I have all the time in the world to do just that. I love to find the excelent quality posts on my own. Checking out the tag you posted now !

Yeah. Engagement and conversation are what will keep people coming back. So i want to have that guide me a bit.

To the Moon would be my answer! :)

Nothing to add & my final..... in picture!

Your bot looks like he's smiling :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19