You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [proposal] A potential alternative to Voting Power, Voting Tokens?

in #steemit8 years ago

Interesting idea. Not sure how I feel about incurring a penalty for uncasting a vote, but designing the system to favor human behaviors over bot behaviors makes more sense than the other way around.

Sort:  

I actually just learned this myself after writing this post. Right now you do incur a penalty for uncasting a vote, it still counts as a 100% vote from your voting power. I'm not sure how I feel about this either, but apparently is a safeguard against a few ways of gaming the system.

That's why I used strikethrough on that part of the post. I still think the idea has validity, but I'm not sure how to do it yet. My brain was a little done by the time I finished up the post ;)

I think that if it didn't, you could vote for several things, wait a bit, and then keep only the "winning votes" and remove the ones from places that didn't get traction in order to try again.

Yup that was exactly the reason given. I do think there should probably be a 5-10 minute grace period before this kicks in though. Especially if we only get 5x 100% votes a day.

The other solution is to add a confirmation window to votes, which sounds like a terrible idea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34