steemit as a society ROCKS!

in #steemit7 years ago


(credit Google images)

I'm not sure if we are all changing the world, but I do know for sure that we are changing the face of social media with steemit. In an increasingly dehumanizing world, steemit has managed to humanize social media...well, I guess it's the people on the platform who have done that!!

Margaret Mead (above quote) was a leading cultural anthropologist in the 1960's and 1970's who really brought to the forefront the idea that our culture determines who we are, not simply heredity. She believed that "people needed their culture to help guide them towards healthier emotional lives" (credit https://www.biography.com/people/margaret-mead-9404056) I know that my emotional well-being is positively influenced by steemit, as opposed to the negative impact of Facebook, for example.

When I look at steemit as a society in and of itself, I see the exact same thing. This is a platform that encourages community spirit, helpfulness, and encouragement; everyone's blogs together create this amazing society. And this platform is so different than something like Facebook because it encourages us to write what other people want to hear as opposed to what we want them to see (someone here said that to me, somewhere in my travels...if you happen to read this, identify yourself please:). It truly is a group of thoughtful people who are changing the way social media 'behaves'.

Of course there is money to be made in all of this, but that becomes secondary when you really engage in the community as a whole and develop genuine relationships with genuine people.


(credit Google images)

I'm with Steve Jobs on that one! You certainly can't take it with you. It's stories that make up our history, not money, and in the end, we all have a story to tell...


(credit Google images)

And the great thing about steemit is that there are people here who genuinely want to hear THAT story; not only hear it, but actively comment and engage with you on it! I have never been a part of a social platform where that happens.

When I was started here, there was so much I didn't quite understand, but there were also so many people who were more than willing to help me out, and so many different informational posts that made it really easy to just start growing.

And so now that I am becoming a part of this community, I too try every day to encourage people, help out 'newbies' (of which I still consider myself one;), and generally pass on or resteem any information that I think may help others.


(credit Google images)

People helping people...that's my thing :)

So I guess I just wanted to say a big THANK YOU to everyone that has helped me, welcomed me, or simply talked with me! There are way too many to mention, but I think you know who you all are:)

Cheers to many years developing the greatness of our steemit community, as Coretta Scott King (Martin Luther King, Jr.'s wife) says, one with "a heart of grace and soul generated by love".

Cheers!!

Sort:  

I really like this post lynncoyle1!

Wow! Great post! The more I learn about the steemit community, the more I love It!

Wow. This so nice. Steemit is a great platform and we know that it will keep growing stronger and better because it has people like you and me.

That's it in a nutshell:)

Thank you so much; I really appreciate it!

Wow lovely quote

Well said! :D

Thank you! :)

I shared this with Brian and will share it with you as well, praying and wishing the best for you:

http://cancertutor.com

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you so much!! I'm going to have a look at it right now. I really appreciate you taking the time to pass this on to us:)

Compassion is what the world needs. Steemit allows us to bring it into social media by sharing of ourselves with greater generosity. I am so grateful for the many empathetic souls I have met here.

I agree! Thanks for commenting ;)

An awesome well written post, Lynn! It's people like you that make this an amazing platform! Keep up the good work!

Aww thank you so much for the compliment!! I will do my best :)

Lovely - progression through collaboration. That's what Steemit promotes. I love it :)

Thank you so much @raymondspeaks! I really do appreciate you coming by and reading:) Cheers!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67