You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fighting Spam & Low Quality Content Together. Part 1: What Do You Think Is Spam

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm fairly new to steemit and used to be a high school English teacher . Now, I'm no expert, but to me plagiarism is anything that is not your own words, or if you don't give credit to the source of your "words". Technically, posting a YouTube video isn't necessarily plagiarism if you quoted the source; but is it quality content? Possibly. Possibly not. That's where it gets pretty subjective...to me a post may scream quality, to others maybe not. I'm a firm believer in getting rid of those begging for upvotes..that one is pretty clear to me. I have dabbled in the 'upvoting bots' simply to see what they do. But I must admit, it felt kind of 'icky' :), but let's face it, there are people here whose sole interest is making money. Who's to say if that is wrong or not as long as they are posting quality, informative work? I love the idea of resteeming good posts or contests etc that you want to spread around. That's kind of the whole purpose here isn't it? to share with our community? After re-reading my comment here, and others, it seems like the only clear irritant is ridding steemit of the 'upvote beggars' :) Cheers!

Sort:  

I agree when you say that the idea of what is ’quality content’ is different for everybody.
YouTube videos can contain loads of quality information, but I’m against copy/pasting videos without bothering to give credit to the creator and at least spend a couple of minutes personalizing the post with a short intro, or a review or something like that.

It’s obvious the ‘beggers’ are the ones that irritate people the most. Those posts are spam without any doubt, whatever your definition of spam is. Actually that was not really the answer I was looking for, since it’s so obvious :-)

Those people will also not be affectief by spreading the message not to upvote spam, Since they don’t get any upvotes anyway

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60