Sort:  

I think we can. I've seen it happen in various contexts. Though they were extraordinary circumstances, separated from typical experience. Money is really a very new thing to humans. We certainly didn't evolve using money or anything like it. And it is imaginary, anyhow... We have items that fill in symbolically, as representatives of whatever it is we call money. But the substance of money is an abstraction. It's a peculiar way of framing our social relations.

I've read a bit about various gift and sharing economies. It's interesting stuff, to be sure, but I also value and love technology. So far, technological advancement comes about via capital. I think it brings future potential to travel the cosmos and live extended lives. Ideally, those lives should also be filled with increased fulfillment and well-being too. Some like to glorify our pre-agricultural days (and they have many valid reasons for doing so), but I also think some anarcho-primitivists would actually hate living off the land. Not all, of course, but some. Watching Naked and Afraid is a good exercise for those who thing nature is a beautiful, wonderful, peaceful thing.

Nature is a bitch.

I've been using my bicycle to go camping for the last 10 years. When you are miles from civilization, you become very aware of how fragile the human body actually is. The last thing a biker wants 100 miles from home is to twist their ankle stepping over some logs. I have loads of respect for the anarchists living off the grid in the Oregon state parks. Not only are they reducing their amount of fossil fuel use and clear-cutting in the state park, but these people are willing to miss out on career opportunities in the city.

In a similar fashion to your Steemit hack, our anarchists are hiding the currency symbol every day of their life. I appreciate that commitment and see them as real leaders in a society that is currently lost, looking for a purpose.

I'm not advocating anarcho-primitivism. I just want to abolish money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63