You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One quote that SHOULD define your downvote strategy on Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm not a fan of downvotes either. If we acted that way in real life, society would be terrible. We don't go around telling people how much we dislike whatever it is they are doing, we shouldn't do it here either. Some art, I'm not at all a fan of. Does that mean I should protest outside the art gallery or figure out some way to lower the auction cost of the art? That's just silly.

That said, I also recognize the game theory aspects of the whales upvoting bad content for their own profit which then lowers the perceived value of the network for everyone. Yes "bad content" is subjective, but I see the reasons behind the "up votes can be abusive too" rationale. I'm hopeful we'll find a good balance over time.

Sort:  

I'm hoping that because it's a new community and concept, that some of the inequities will be worked out over time. We'll have to wait and see.

Dan just posted on downvotes. Good post, worth reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40