You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Facebook More Censorship Resistant than Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago

I got into a debate with @sigmajin

Sorry. I've done this and seen it done, and it's usually not pretty, IMO. I prefer rational, non-emotional debates with a shared goal of reaching more truth and so far I haven't seen that happen with this individual. Thankfully, he's muted me so I don't have to worry about it anymore. :)

Sort:  

Right @lukestokes, changing ideas doesn't mean debating it mean something is to be shared for the purpose of information and knowledge.

Yep. Just now learning that. At this point, saying that Steemit is not more censorship resistant than Facebook is ,at face value, trollish.

He's like a troll mastermind though.... and if he reads this will likely take it as some sort of sardonic compliment. Slippery but clever enough to be nailed down on any point through use of linguistic tactics alone. Never concedes. More likely to ridicule.

That he blocked you and then forgot that he was the one that blocked them is hilarious and telling.

I'm glad he is making his own post about it so it will be easier for me to selectively censor it and scroll right by :)

You guys made me wonder why I'm not following him, the name is known well enough, after all.

It was truly, honestly simply because we have completely different interests, that is all, so I looked whether I had an unpleasant encounter with him.

I did have an encounter, but not unpleasant. So, to be fair, he upvoted my corrections of his corrections of my post; I count that as a "concession": so in dubio pro reo, I assume he is not completely immune to sound reason and solid arguments and just loves, as much as I do, Socratic trolling and playing devil's advocate.

For some, that is terribly annoying, others appreciate being pushed beyond their intellectual comfort zone.

You are both right: censorship is impossible on the blockchain, as it is decentralized and immutable. At the same time, if a whale or collective of whales downvote a post into invisibility and oblivion, thus denying it attention, readership and "rewards", it does constitute a form of censorship. So it actually depends on the interface.

So far, however, I am quite pleased even with Steem as seen through the Steemit lens. "Conspiracy theories", I mean, valid criticism of the status quo receive much more attention than threadbare attempts at "coincidence theorizing", ridicule of tinfoil crackpots and defenses of "conventional wisdom", "externalized thinking" or "received knowledge".

Note the "so far"; the potential dangers posed to the project by future generations of whales have already been highlighted.

I invite you to read my post, where i make effectively the same point (its linked above). And i don't have to call those who disagree with me trolls to do it.

BTW, i don't remember why i upvoted your correction. I usually upvote most replies, even if i don't necessarily agree with them. AAMOF i upvoted this post, even though blakes replies are somehwhat libelous.

If you read through blakes and lukes posts (and especially through lukes posts on steemit abuse) , what they want is a system where people aren't free to disagree with them except on certain terms (that they decide on). If that isnt censorship, i don't know what is.

Not so no drama in my thread, just a huge love fest(well not that huge). Blake and luke apparently know they can't hang... but just as a by the by, how is my name well known? I don't really post that much.

Naaah, you are all just disagreeing for the sake of disagreeing.

But that's okay, I'm judging Steem by the drama it spawns.

Also, just realized he has never done an intro post on his account so has no reputation stake tied to it.

My name is on the line with everything I say, as is yours. He can literally afford to be pretentious on his account. More reasons to avoid. Maybe his sensitivity to censorship resistance on here is due to people selectively ignoring him because of his attitude.... Just like I'll be doing from now on :)

Yes, i have done an intro post. More lies. More libel. More mischaracterization.

Just like the lie about this made up "emotional argument" i had with @lukestokes.

Thats the difference between me and you. I can (and did) make my point without adhominem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31