You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Letter to Steemit Gods, Dan in Particular Are You Trying to Build the Buzzfeed of the Blockchain?

in #steemit8 years ago

This has been my biggest concern in publishing on Steemit. I'm glad I'm not the only one. The fact that we can't delete content means that we really do only get 12 hours to make it worth it.

I don't mind if it's a short story here and there that was written for the sole purpose of finding an audience and hopefully making back its editing fees, but I was hoping this might be a place to publish ongoing comic book pages, serialised novels, etc, and the one pay and done model sells the artist incredibly short.

When I write a novel I hope that it will make me and my family money even after I'm dead. That's one of the single benefits of spending hours and hours and hours pouring your life onto the page. The idea that you're investing in the future, and not just trying to get enough to pay rent for that single month.

Sort:  

What I saw here was the ability to build income in the three ways that are recommended : immediate, residual, and investment, all rolled into one. I think it's short sighted if they don't find a way to quickly correct this error. The only way to make money here on a regular basis until they do is to crank up the content production and hope that you cant then publish it somewhere else without suffering for having it here already. Sites like Wattpad are built on the backs of writer slaves who get nothing for it, does Steemit really want to be that kind of site? They talk about it, as if the site is contributor owned, but only a few months in, the top voters have thousands of times more power than newbies, meaning that whatever gets done, there's little chance of it changing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47