Steemit needs an overhaul

in #steemit7 years ago

ecqa-community-picture.jpg

Hi friends. I know a while back I was beaten down in Reputation for speaking my mind and critisized for pointing out failures I saw in our Community. Noticed I put that word in bold, I sid this because I feel we have lost touch with this simple meaning. Steemit and Steem the same has had its moments of glory, but seems to be frozen in time when it comes to value among the exchanges. Believe it or not Steem actually reached 5 dollars a coin, thats right you heard me. This was back in a better time amongst this community. In this post I will give you my opinion as to why we are trapped at the $1.30 amount and why we have been at this price for so long. Its simple really, its our stability among the Bitcoin community and the exchanges.

0873a789b3f9922aa8d0f23e0e362f7e--work-change-quotes-embracing-change-quotes.jpg

Let me start by saying our biggest problem is the distribution of our coins Steem and SBD. Distribution of these coins are based upon the create the content and be rewarded for doing so, yes a great concept but this makes it easy for a cornering of the market amongst a slight few. Those who were here early have too much power and seem to only help eachother. Very seldomely do you see a new account or even a seasoned one between the rep of 25 to 50 get upvoted by these Whales if you will. Now I understand the reason for them not upvoting everyone or even a bunch. This would bring too much distribution and cause more sales of Steem, thus bringing down the price further. My major concern though is the fact that the Home page and Pipular page is and has always been filled with stories or posts from those with Reputations of 60+. This to me means the big guys are merly helping eachother and not so interested in spreading the wealth amongst the community. No matter the masterpiece your post might be or how much time and effort was spent in doing so, your post will almost never be upvoted by these Elites.

This is Steemits greatest downfall, Yes I said it. No I do not feel like Steemit is horrible and a Scam by any means, but I do feel we need a lot to change in order for this to actually thrive into what it can be. New coins are popping up everyday and they go from litte prices to a good amount and continue to climb. These coins are doing so in adding new features and incentives. These incentives help to keep the community excited about Whats next for such and such Coin. We need this in a major way and we need the distribution to become more even amongst the platform. We will never go anywhere if new members join excited and leave disguisted because of the unfair chance that they will never be noticed no matter how great their content is.

In the end, here are the things we need to change or reconfigure in order to break the bottom of the barrel threshhold we are stuck in.

images.jpg

1. Whales should not have the ability to only give a vote 1 percent of their voting power. Yet giving other whales huge percentage , thus seeing the posts from 50 to well over 100 dollars having all authors of 60+

2. We need more stability in how our network works. I have read many posts about exchanges having our wallets under maintenance and this has been over a long period of time. I understand routine maintenance, but locking down funds in an attempt to push the price up would prove to be costly in the end

**3. We all need to get along. I read a post earlier regarding a whale yelling about how much smaller accounts are begging for votes. This is a killer amongst the growth and shows a bad rap to our community. We cant have big people looking down on smaller accounts like we are any less than them. We need our good whales back, those who actually read little peoples posts and choose a slight few to vote on ( Not one percent either).

I know I am gonna get backlash for this, but I feel it needs to be known by the newer people and we also need the bigger guys to maybe realize that they need to be a little more helpful to build this great community.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Intersting to say the least. I have been on here only a couple of weeks and this was all new to me. I will watch and see if what you are saying is true. If so we will defintely need a change. Nice post

2- I think the exchange stability issue is more to do with how much computing resource it requires to keep a blockchain node up. From what I know, some work is being done to address this.
3- I see vote begging a symptom of the economic structure on Steem. This is a third world economic structure and we don't yet have a healthy middle class or a way a minnow can see a path to whaledom.

Thank you for your input. Like I said before we need some better distribution so the trade will be spread out more. I think too few people with lots and barely any with a little could kill our market value. Again thank you for your comment and insight

Two ways to change distribution so whales are a smaller percentage of the economy: penalise whales, or grow the size of steem as a whole while the whales grow at a slower rate.

Congratulations @ltndd1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50