Sharing the Love and the Spotlight: Purveyor of Fine Content (More Hidden Gems 26)

in #steemit8 years ago

In my daily effort to continue to do my part to raise awareness of other content, I have a couple of new gems to feature. Please take the time to check them out and give them an upvote and some comments. I think every writer appreciates the upvote, but would love some dialogue as well.

Social Media Tip #6 Interconnect Your Channels.

Since I lived some of my professional life in the realm of digital advertising, I am always a sucker for a good piece on how Steemit authors can publicize, raise awareness of their work and grow their follower base. This piece by @hilarski is very awesome, and there is a series being developed which should be followed.

https://steemit.com/socialmedia/@hilarski/social-media-tip-6-interconnect-your-channels

Bees Bring us More Benefits than just Tasty Honey. Beekeepering.

Sure, they sting, but bees give us so much more than just honey. I sometimes love to watch them collect nectar from my garden plants in the backyard. This piece by @kental touches on what exactly bees bring to us outside of the awesomeness that is honey.

https://steemit.com/bees/@kental/bees-bring-us-more-benefits-than-just-tasty-honey-beekeepering

How To NOT Climb Mount Fuji + Epic Summit Shots

Drunken climb to the summit of Mount Fuji in tennis shoes, a Hawaiian floral shirt and skinny jeans? Why not. Check out the epic journey of @wmeara as he climbs to the summit of Mount Fuji (and snapped some killer photos) and manages not to freeze to death in the process. Love it.

https://steemit.com/travel/@wmeara/how-to-not-climb-mount-fuji-epic-summit-shots

Where Technology Meets the Collective Unconscious || A brief introduction to the trancewar

I can remember my freshman year in College, when I first was exposed to the ideas of Carl Jung. One of the thing I remembered the most was the idea of the collective unconscious and the super conscious. In this piece by @mada, we learn about what the collective unconscious is and what the trancewar on that collectve unconscious. Fascinating read.

https://steemit.com/psychology/@mada/where-technology-meets-the-collective-unconscious-or-or-a-brief-introduction-to-the-trancewar

Between my own writing I will keep purveying fine content.

Please follow me on my blog @lpfaust if you enjoy my content.

Sort:  

Thanks for the collection. I had read How To NOT Climb Mount Fuji + Epic Summit Shots and thoroughly enjoyed it as well!

Thanks for taking the time to read this post and the post of the featured authors.

I will confess, How not to Climb Mt Fuji was by far my favorite in this collection.

Thanks for these suggestions. I had opened the @hilaski blog you noted but hadn't read it yet. Now I'll make sure that I do. The Mt. Fuji story is great, and now I have a new person to follow.

My question is, how do I manage to read even a fraction of what I want to read? I try to spend some time on my feed, some on New, some on IntroduceYourself, and I try to check out what the thought leaders are saying, although not every day, and I have missed this feature for days. Any hints on how to do a better job? It's just going to get harder the more people I follow.

@steemerpat I always begin my search for content through the new tab, mostly because I am looking for new authors with hidden gem content to feature. After that I go through my feed and maybe look at promoted posts. I generally avoid the trending page because in my experience has been it's the same people and the same posts for days, so it's a waste of time for me.

I think the second piece of my finds has everything to do with knowing what substance is to me. How an article is laid out tells you instantly if the author spent any time thinking about the post before writing it. The second thing I look for is some modicum of original thought. If I see tons of links and blockquotes, it tells me there is no original thought so I am not interested. Both of these techniques can help you domain cursory scan before becoming invested. My last rule is I never look at self help articles. This has become synonymous to the filler in hot dogs to me. Easy article to write with no real investment in research to make them with a high chance of upvote.

Hope that helps.

Thanks. That tells me I'm mostly on the right track. I don't usually look at Trending either. I would add that I really keep an eye out for plagiarism. Interesting viewpoint on self-help!
.

Thank you for the mention!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49