STEEMIVERSARY - 1 YEAR ON STEEMIT

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Today is my Steemit Birthday. My Steemit account is 1 year old now.

So where do I begin? They say time flies, I couldn't agree more...

It feels just like yesterday I found out about Steemit and joined this amazing platform. I was sitting on this very same computer digging the web as always, when I heard about this blockchain based social platform. I have to admit I knew nothing about how Steemit worked when I signed up. I was a total noob. I do remember though that I didn't have to wait at all in order to receive my password and get started. After all, there were only 141,758 Steemians in the world on March 28, 2017. We are a rare social species.

29746916_1776050269369749_1332135370_o (1).jpg

I also remember that I didn't know anybody around and had no people in my life that could solve my questions regarding Steemit. None of my friends and family members knew anything about this beautiful platform's existence. I remember spreading the word like a maniac, trying to convince everyone I knew to join and having a really hard time achieving this as most of them couldn't wrap their minds around the concept and would totally ignore me. Is he out of his mind? No way a website would pay people to post and curate. It all feels like yesterday.

I remember telling people how Steemit rocks regardless of the money involved as I was absolutely fed up with facebook and mainstream social media in general. The quality of the majority of publications on Steemit is top notch guys! I was right. Vast amounts of technical and detailed information concerning various fields are already available on this amazing blockchain based library of ours. I learned tons of stuff regarding cryptocurrency in particular and exchanged data with all sorts of interesting people from all over the world. But isn't that the case with mainstream social media as well? No. There's no censorship on Steemit. Nobody can delete your posts, nobody can erase your blog. No Mark Suckerberg around whatsoever.

I was amazed by this fact and did realize this was a sign that Steemit had a huge potential of growth. It saddens me how people can't seem to realize that the blockchain technology can end suppression of information and therefore serve true justice and freedom. I've always wondered how this world would look like if Nikola Tesla, Albert Einstein and many others had access to Steemit accounts before passing. Their writings would be immortalized on the blockchain. All this information would be available for the general public nowadays instead of being suppressed by governments and corporations. But hey, that's just me.

It feels just like yesterday when I started making strong and valuable friendships online. Met people that I'm thankful I did and gained knowledge that made me a stronger and better person. I've seen people helping others systematically and unconditionally and even though I was not on the receiving end it made my heart warm. Too many powerful and at the same time benevolent people on Steemit give hope and do their part in making this world a better place for everyone. You know who you guys are, I won't tag you as I'm not doing this to receive an upvote. I'm speaking my mind and I'm thankful for everything you're doing. Please stay awesome. You're a glimmer of hope for many.

However I also do remember that it was pretty hard for me in the beginning. I was trying my best but wasn't getting any attention. I was only receiving a few upvotes and maybe a couple of comments if I got lucky. I've been putting a lot of effort in my work since day one, spending long hours in the development of my engineering posts, which was definitely not worth it moneywise, however this is the point I'm trying to make; I didn't do this for the money. I never gave up. I'm not writing this paragraph to whine, not a freaking chance. I'm not this type, nor am I looking to get rich on Steemit. I'm writing these lines for those of you, new members that made it so far in this post. I know how tough it might be for you to get noticed. Keep doing what you love and always try to look at things from a community's perspective. In time you'll get what's yours.

And that was exactly the case with me. Patience paid off. Just as I was getting desperate, I remember meeting all those lovely people on @greek-trail who assisted me by offering precious information on discord and supporting my blogging activity. I can't stress enough how grateful I am. I'm not the type to start tagging each and everyone of you as I have not met you in person yet, however I do look forward to meeting all of you guys one day. You know who you are. You're my friends even though we've never met. Thank you for helping each other and creating this wonderful community of ours.

And that's when things started taking a turn for the better. I discovered @steemstem and @curie and started reading through those blogs like a maniac. I immediately felt like this was the place for me as I have a Master's Degree in Rural & Surveying Engineering, so I made my first attempt to contribute to this incredible scientific community. Now I feel like home. Even though I didn't mention any Steemians in particular, I do feel like I have to say thanks to @ruth-girl for offering valuable advice on discord after reading my first STEM post and leaving a kind comment. For those of you who don't know, she is a teacher and undoubtedly a very talented writer worth following. She definitely helped me a lot and spent time in order to provide information. She is the only person that has helped me that much so far without doubt. I'm more than thankful to you! I had to do this.

DQmQPRBLmhWag36FBxYVNJNKZRUsBbpPeZvm7FVixnWVXhk_1680x8400.png

That was a summary of my Steemit life so far.

I'm more than grateful to everyone reading my work and supporting me. I can't stress it enough. I apologize if I got emotional in front of you, that's what I do on birthdays anyway!

DQma1ThzvUGdpwhn4q4PXX8Qj79r2B7Cz9JTfaAYvGJwMGq_1680x8400.jpg
DQmQPRBLmhWag36FBxYVNJNKZRUsBbpPeZvm7FVixnWVXhk_1680x8400.png

Thank you for your attention!
Consider making my day today!
Just kidding! My day has been awesome regardless!

Highest Regards
@lordneroo

Sort:  

Happy birthday!! :P
You are an amazing person and you bring so much quality on the platform! I just wish you keep doing your best (as I know you will). You work hard and deserve all the best!
I feel really happy to have met you and look forward to seeing you in person in one of the future Steemeets! :)

PS. I am really humbled by your words. THANK YOU so much! :D

Thank you so much @ruth-girl!
I truly appreciate your help and kind words!

Your work is excellent so those words of yours mean the world to me!
Looking forward to meet you in one of the following Steemeets as well!
I'm just speaking my mind so no need to thank me at all!

Stay awesome and thanks for the support!

You got a 28.57% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @lordneroo! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

You are such a paliouras !
Congrats and happy birthday and STEEM ON !!!

Thank you very much @iliasdiamantis!
I'm a leouras indeed! :P I'm just starting to realize that!

Thanks again for dropping by and supporting me!
STEEM ON!

You got a 28.57% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @lordneroo! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

Happy birthday mate.
I wish you this year to be your year
Your engineering posts are amazing.Tremendous effort and fantastic analysis.
Hey...when you ll become a whale don't forget my kind words ok:P
Just kidding...i wish you all the best

Thank you so much mate! You've been supporting my work ever since you joined Steemit and I'm truly grateful for that! I really appreciate your kind words, I feel honored to be honest! Your wirtings are truly inspiring so your support means more than you can imagine to me!

I'm just a minnow so I can't see that happening any time soon, however rest assured that I never forget those who helped and supported me.

Stay blessed and creative!

You got a 28.57% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @lordneroo! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

Upvoted!!! Do you want to know what my secret is? I don’t mind what happens!

Oh! I thought your secret was copy-pasting the same comment all over Steemit... ;)
Thanks for the upvote!

I am trying to give back and curate minnows...and frontrun all those bidbots. :)

Congratulations or should I say Happy Birthday! I really relate to this although I just passed 100 days. It's tough convincing people of something new so I hope to do it by succeeding and I hope those aren't famous last words!

Thank you so much! It is what it is I guess! Don't ever give up and you will succeed! Success is the ability to keep going no matter how many times you failed.

Happy Birthday! This reminds me that mine is coming up sometime in May this year!

I will be sure to drop by and wish you a happy anniversary as well! Thanks for reading and leaving a comment!

Happy anniversary @lordneroo.

I just started this journey on steemit you know and I find this inspirational. SteemSTEM has really been a source of encouragement to all. They are really doing a great Job.

Like you said, we have to be patient with whatever we do and soon we will succeed. I salute your patience and I'm glad your journey so far has been fruitful.

Happy anniversary once again.

Hey @temitayo-pelumi Thank you so much for dropping by!

I'm glad you found this post inspiring. I'm also grateful you took the time to read this.

Patience pays off, persistence is key!

Thank you so much for your kind words!

You are welcome

Happy steem-birthday! I'm just a bit older, because i joined in January, 2017.

Hey @kalemandra, thank you so much! I see you're a slightly older member, however I've got thousands of miles ahead to catch up with you! Stay awesome!

Congratulations on your first year on Steemit. Great ! Will you stay and follow. I wish you continued fun and success in your actions on Steemit. See you next year!

Thanks! It's been a wonderful year! I'm super happy I joined Steemit a year ago!

Happy birthday to you! You said that the site was full of quality content when you first joined. I mean no snarkiness in this but... have you found that the quality has deteriorated as more people have joined, and that more are trying to "game" the system in one way or another? What about balance of power? For me it's irrelevant either way because I stick to my communities and mostly ignore the front page, but I'm wondering how things used to be around here.

Hello there! Thanks for reading and leaving a thoughtful response!

Unfortunately scammers always follow the money, that said I believe it's only reasonable that there are more and more users trying to milk the platform nowadays. Nothing actually changed regarding the trending page syndrome as I call it though. However this is human nature and this is just a simulated version of society; you just have to find those worth following and stick with them. Nobody said that Steemit is perfect and it definitely has flaws but it's still a wonderful platform regardless. It's up to us to make quality the norm. The world changes one step at a time.

Thank you for your insight. I certainly agree with your points.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42