You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do you do first on Steem? It's important!

in #steemit7 years ago

I agree 100%. I like getting comments and knowing what people think of the things I post and when I notice someone comments regularly I want to know what they post too. I see a lot of people amass followers but lack post engagement, they haven't made the proper connections.

#unmentionables

Sort:  

Precisely @lordmok! I don't want to be disrespectful of the Steem tools that are out there that help you get followers for following other people, but such a random tool doesn't get you ENGAGED followers. It just makes a pretty number.

You hit on another great point. Seeing people's name appear in your comments REGULARLY catches the eye and makes you curious about what they are posting. Consistently visiting the post of someone you would like to have follow you, and making meaningful comments on those posts is a good way to get eyes. And not just the author's, but other people who are reading their blog too.

We can't always comment on every post that author makes. Sometimes we just won't have anything to contribute! For example, Last night I read @abitrarykitten's post about the Ego. It was a terrific article, but the best comment I could come up with was a snarky sarcastic comment about how my Ego was barking at her for outing it. I didn't feel like that sort of comment on such a in depth subject really added to the conversation, so I left my upvote and refrained from commenting. That doesn't mean I am just upvoting for curation credit. Just that I am not comfortable with my ability to add to this conversation, but I will get her comments next time around.

No one could have said it better, you are completely right. Adding value is the primary objective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51