Please don't follow me !

in #steemit8 years ago

Now don't get me wrong, I love being followed and the increasing follower number is really an ego boost. But I don't need followers that follow me for I don't know what reason, because they clearly aren't interested in my content.

Why do people follow me when they ignore all the new content I put out ? Why do we all do things like that ?
I, for example, am subscribed to a lot of youtube channels that I don't ever want to watch another video from.
Maybe we like 1 video, post or whatever and want to support the creator, but don't have the time, will, penis size or whatever to watch or read another. An increasing follower number might create a nice attraction for new followers, but I need you to read my stuff people !

I want you all to think about why you shouldn't follow me.

Sort:  

@lorddominik007
I follow you for selfish reasons.
I use my feed to highlight content from authors who have impressed me in the past. I check my feed daily, but I don't necessarily dig beyond the first page of results.

Finding you in my feed is a random process, but far less random than stumbling on you in the noise of the rest of the world.

Me not seeing or commenting is not reflection on you. It has nothing to do with my opinion of you. It has to do with the amount of time I have in a day and the randomizing effect of having 100 people I'm following, some of whom are putting out 6 or 7 things a day and drowning you out. I'm sorry about that, but if you are important enough to me to hit that follow button then you will also get missed from time to time as well.

If you ever want my specific attention, then seek me out by hoping in my blog and posting a link asking me to come look. I promise that I will and I promise that I'm fine with it. It also exposes you to my audience and me to yours.

Not going to unfollow you though and you can't make me :D

Fair enough, but still following 100s ? :P

Following hundreds of people I know put out quality stuff is easier than sifting through 10k noobs a day posting content of spurious quality.
Fact if you're in my feed when I'm looking at my feed and I don't have time to read your whole post, it's an upvote because that allows me to "bookmark" the post for later. Later might be days or weeks. But I always read what I upvote, eventually.
I do upvote all of my followers as often as I can, not just the ones I follow.

However if you're down below the first page, I don't go digging. That's on me and I apologize. But seriously every entry I make in my blog is an open invitation to all of my followers, to hop in and link their latest stuff. Always!

So in my case, if you want to ensure I see you, come see me, otherwise it's a bit random, but less random than trying to find stuff in the "active" section of the site.

Alright, that's a good attitude and explanation. Thanks for taking the time, I might drop by too :)

You posting inspired me to examine why I'm here a little closer...
https://steemit.com/active/nameinlights
Your name is up there tomorrow.

Haha, thanks my man.

Followed and upvoted your post, I think that is what you asked, lol :D
Reverse psychology.

୧༼ಠ益ಠ༽୨ WHY ARE WE RIOTING ୧༼ಠ益ಠ༽୨ ୧༼ಠ益ಠ༽୨ WHY ARE WE RIOTING ୧༼ಠ益ಠ༽୨ ୧༼ಠ益ಠ༽୨ WHY ARE WE RIOTING ୧༼ಠ益ಠ༽୨

Just for the sake of it.

Followed and upvoted !!

Followed because reverse psychology

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47