Improving Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I think Steemit is an extremely revolutionary social platform. But everything could use a little enhancing. Here are my ideas:

Notification system

I think this one is pretty obvious. I'd like a little window that starts shining once something happens (think Facebook haha). I'd like to know when someone flags some of my posts, it really helps to know when your rep is going down.
Replies, flags and tags - I don't think upvote notifications are needed.

Follow system

Right now you can follow people and that's about it. There is no reason to do it, it simply doesn't offer any kind of appeal. We could use a system that tells you when a person you follow posts something - maybe use the notifications for that ? ^^

Rewards for posting in little used topics / Decreased rewards for multiple posting in the same category

No more trending full of travel, introduceyourself, steemit and life posts. We should have a system that somehow (through magic of computers - I Dunno lol) figures out the least used topics and offers extra rewards if you get to a certain amount of upvotes on that post. / Decrease the reward you get if you post too many times in one category. Posting photos of your dog is fun and all, but doing it everyday doesn't really enhance the community, does it ?

Reputation votes not built around voting power

We all love our whales (notice me senpais) , but we could use a fairer reputation system. Give all people that have above, I dunno, 30 voting power the same rep power. = You need a lot of upvotes to get a higher level, but a lot of flags to get down as well. The 30 voting power requirement is set so people can't just make a ton of accounts and upvote themselves to paradise. It could still be exploited if a particularly rich individual decided to, but it's really improbable. If that is a concern, I'm sure someone more technically savvy than me can figure that out haha.

Category spotlight

1.Have a sidebar where there is 1 post from every category. 2.Have these posts change every 15 minutes. (or more, or less, again - I dunno )3. ????? 4.Profit.

Well that's about it. I got many more random ideas, but these seem pretty good.

Please share, upvote and reply so this post gets some attention from people that actually have skills. (unlike me) Follow @lorddominik007 - Even though it doesn't do anything, YET :)

Sort:  

I am new to steemit, but I agree that it could use some enhancements.
It could also be made to be a little more user friendly. :)

@lorddominik007 I agree with you
There is an off-site tool for the follow system in the link below
https://steemstats.com/

btw I think you are a better writer than you think.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.5 and reading ease of 76%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

I think this is a great idea I'm sure since Steemit is in beta and they plan on growing the platform into a multifaceted economy it will become more like the sites we love but actually so much larger! Honestly I think Steemit will consume Facebook and YouTube in less than 10 years.

Good points. I think an essential feature would be to have a list of all the posts you upvote so you can easily find them again. Groups is something I anticipate. Steemit is stil beta so there will be more improvements over time. Keep on steemin'

Those are some good ideas :) Steem on

There needs to be a large overhaul. Making following worthwhile, rewards for contrarianism, notifications, more balanced voting is a good start. I'm in Vegas, no time to make more words, but will write words later on my additional suggestions.

Great , thanks for the reply, enjoy Vegas. :)

Thought of another change: Comments are not allowed deeper than depth 4 which only further shrinks intelligent discourse. The comment section should be the lifeblood of this site.

Wrote a longer blog here and linked to yours: https://steemit.com/steemit/@daut44/steemit-needs-to-change-its-reward-system-to-better-incentivize-intelligent-discourse-in-blogs

Oh, you a pro poker player, that's cool. I had to stop because I was to easy to get into full-tilt mode haha. Insane all ins after that. Thanks for the mention friend :)

It's a tough way to make an easy living. Most people think mathematical ability, logic, and the ability to read people are the most important things, but really the most important qualities are discipline, focus, competitiveness, and a lack of stubbornness.

You also need great mental endurance, thinking for hours straight, couple of days in a row. WOW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54