How Steemit Can Piss You!

in #steemit7 years ago

Why I love steemit: Because of the kind of people I can find here.

Why I don't love steemit: Because of this.

Caution: Are You Storing Cryptocurrency On Exchanges Like Poloniex, Bittrex?

More than 1500 people have read this article, and I got paid a good 71$, but those 71$ will always be 71$.

I have written that article about 2 months ago, crypto world is a volatile world, and this is an informative article.

What if what I had written is outdated now.

What if I need to improve or update the article.

What if this is a lousy article that I want to erase off.

It is what it is, for forever, and if it remains at the top, I would hate to feed people the outdated information.

It is because of things like these, I am happy writing my inferior philosophy that nobody reads and nobody upvotes.

Maybe this is why most of my pro blogger friends left steemit after the first week.

Sort:  

It's true.

I'm so glad you said this. Over at revisesociology.com which is just my wordpress blog, I earn quite a substantial amount from advertising and I must say I find it VERY SATISFYING slowly evolving and interlinking my older posts which get thousands of hits every month, which of course all results in greater advertising revenue. I've also enjoyed developing pages which add structure to my individual blog posts, can't do that here either.

Personally I think reflective depth-analysis and constant refining of previous analysis is the most effective way to produce valuable content.

So many people here on Steemit bang on about 'adding value to the community by creating good content' - but the weekly pay structure simply doesn't provide rewards for refining old material, instead it encourages what I call 'churn posts' - 'what can I bang out today and get noticed with'. It ain't entirely pretty!

Having said that, Steemit might have its uses - I'm thinking of using it for voicing my opinion on news events or quick fire analysis of TV shows. Making short and snappy comments on other peoples' posts is also quite fun.

Another good thing about it is that it really has made me think about being 'quick' in producing stuff - normally I am very ponderous, it's not a bad thing for me to be a bit more rapid fire, and I've thought about style and storifying a bit more, all of which could benefit my main blog.

I also think you need to treat this like a game - with the leveling up and everything... use it to experiment!

A final advantage is that I just earned 6 cents for writing 'nice' in response to someone's photo - this place is a 'nice' reminder of how bizarre this economy is.

What I haven't said in my post, you have explained it. Thanks for some great suggestions. revisesociology.com looks good, I'll read an article or two sometime. Bookmarked it for later.

Hey thanks, but NB - the blog is what is - for revising sociology!

It's a good point, never looked at it this way. Perhaps Steem was designed to be a short-term rewarding blog. Besides, it's a public blockchain, I don't think it's the right place for professional authors and long term royalties. It's better to have a personal website if you want to be manage your work professionally, for example like many artists do.

Yes, you are right bro, you understand me.

Wouldn't blame google

Can't you just edit the article when you need to update it or is that not possible?

Not possible after 7 days.

This has really become a great problem and I completely agree that if steemit does not fix it many great bloggers are going to leave! Thank you for voicing this concern!

Many have already left.

This is a problem, true, but it is a Google problem. They're pulling up the article irrespective of its age. Don't think it'll ever change as temporal content listing is a thing of the past.

Very aptly put. These are some of the crippling features of this platform under beta. I hope it will be addressed in due course. I heard that earlier payouts were given out twice, once in 24 hours and second probably after a month. Perhaps that was better than this. But we need to devise a system where posts should earn forever (or at least for a few years before it gets royalty-free). If some one is consuming our content after one week, we are serving them for free and this is certainly unfair for professional authors. Editing feature I think is platform specific. Probably another platform like Busy may incorporate editing or resteeming after the expiry of payout period, if they so wish.

Steeming creates an unnecessary immediacy for slow movers like me. We need to read and respond to our chosen one's content within 7 days and respond to all comments in 7 days. That's too short for me to react. I believe in living a leisurely life and sometimes I holiday for several weeks or even months. But Steem does not permit that to me 😜

Thanks for raising such important issues here. Please bring this to the attention of witnesses or even better if you become one of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95