Running Spartan Race To Promote Steemit - My Obstacle Mud Frenzy Experience

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I mentioned in my previous post that I would run the Spartan Race to promote Steemit.
So it happened! I ran it last Sunday and I survived!

Because I received some really cool payout for my post, I wanted to share with Steemit something back. I decided to take a part in Spartan Race Peterborough Super.
It was the first time ever I ran an obstacle, mud race. Actually, it was the first time I even ran a race.

This awesome payout allowed me to pay for race entry fee and buy proper trail running gear. I bought myself decent shoes and running shorts. Most importantly, I was able to order this wicked dry-fit running vest with special Steemit design on it.

The whole atmosphere during the event was very friendly with a lot of funny and easy going energy in the air.
Few people asked me about my shirt. They wondered if Steemit is my company or website, so I was very happy to explain to them what Steemit is about. When I told them that Steemit paid for all my gear and participation fee, they found it very interesting and decided to look it up when they get back home.

I decided to run with the last wave of the day. The last wave is usually a bit harder, because all the track is already trampled by previous participants, so all obstacles were covered in slippery mud.

The specific Spartan Race is called Super. It was 12km+ long and contained 20+ obstacles such as crawling under barbed wire, jumping high walls, rope climbing, wall traversing, carrying heavy logs and many more.
If you fail on an obstacle, you do 30 spartan burpees.

I took me 2 hours and 11 minutes to finish it and I had not run out of Steem at all!

I was super surprised when I got the results. I was 143rd (out of 1410 people)!

Here is the short preview video showing the track and all obstacles during that race (recorded by WarriorMuscleFitness):

Steem Power!


Sort:  

Nice! Right in there at that 10th percentile, I always feel good when I come close to that mark. :)

Thank you (-: I think I got addicted. I am thinking about running Spartan Race Beast next month. It is 19-22km long with 30-35 obstacles. This time I will disperse my energy better. I saved too much energy during Super as I did not know what to expect so I ran a bit slower at the beginning. I spent too much time on obstacles too, because I needed to figure out what to do.

Thank you! Yaaar! (-:

Thanks Mr Fiend!

Awesome! You got some really good pictures and footage! Rocking the Steemit brand too!

Haha Thank you I tried my best :-)

Well done, sir! Well done!

Cheers! [-;

Very cool! I have some crazy friends who have done the death race a couple times. Crazy stuff.

Death Race is completely twisted!!! Congratulations to your friends!!!! Wow!

You're a superhuman, man! Looks like a whole load of fun! Upvoted!

Yeah it was proper hardcore fun :-D
Thanks!

This was just awesome! I especially love the fire jump picture, it was epic!

I'm glad you got to spread the word of Steemit with other too!

Thanks. I'm glad that you enjoyed the article.
Without Steemit it would have been hard for me to be able to afford all that gear. Especially, the shoes were very important. Proper trail running shoes were necessary to resist runnning in water and mud and get a grip on slippery obstacles. Synthetic dry-fit clothing was important too, because cotton would get soaked up with water/sweat and become heavy and unbreathable.

That's awesome man!

Thank you too ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70