Why You Should Always Take the Default (50/50) Payout

in #steemit6 years ago

If you've been on Steemit long enough to make posts, you've obviously seen the rewards option in the bottom right. There are two options; 1. Default (50% SBD, 50% SP) and 2. Power Up (100% SP). Lately, I've been messing around with voting bots to figure out how the payout system works. One thing that the Steemit payout system intended was for SBD to be equal to $1 USD as found in this picture below.

The default payout is supposed to be half SBD (assuming 1 SBD = $1) and half SP (while calculating the actual USD value of Steem). So if I have a payout of $10 for a post, I will get a payout of 5 SBD and 1.25 SP (if 1 Steem = $4), where if I get the payout in power up, then I will get 2.5 SP (if 1 Steem = $4). This means at a price of $4 for Steem and $5 for SBD (which is around the current price of both now), getting the Default payout, I will get $30 USD payout, where if I take the Power Up payout, I will get $10 USD payout. That's a 3x difference. So moral of the lesson, take the default payout!

Sort:  

Thanks for the info, this is really interesting. I wonder if they will every update this or if they are just going to keep it the way it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36