Steemit Passwords and what they do

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

By Wlodek, Old, Close, Hack, Closed, Rust, Key, Castle

A quick reference to what each password does.

ActionPosting KeyActive KeyOwner/ Master KeyMemo Key
post, comment, follow, upvote, downvoteXXX
Transfer, trade, power up/down, change keys, witness votingXX
Change owner keyX
View private messagesX

Here's another way to look at the same info:

KeyAction
Posting Keypost, comment, follow, upvote, downvote
Active Keypost, comment, follow, vote, transfer funds, trade, power up/down, change other keys, vote for witnesses
Owner/Master Keypost, comment, follow, transfer funds, trade, power up/down, change other keys, vote for witnesses, change owner key
Memo Keyview private messages

img src pixabay

Come hang out on my discord channel: steemitforboomers

Sort:  

I found this post very valuable. I've been researching just now about safety and security on steemit and I bumped into your post.

I dont understand why steemit doesnt offer 2fa. That would solve most security issues.

Great job. Would you mind if I resteem it? I always ask people for their permission before I do it.

I think you might like the video I just put out. It's on this very subject. I actually designed this post for the purpose of the video. here is the vid if you wanna check it out.

I do wonder why we don't have 2fa. I use it on everything else. I've seen apps for it, but I don't trust anyone with my crap.

Oh, and yes. Please do resteem it! You can resteem any of my stuff. No need to ask. Thanks for the flattering words.

Yeah I just finished reading it.

I've file where I keep links to most valuable posts (sorted by different categories) and your post now is part of this collection :)

I figured that there has been few good posts about steemit security and Im having a hard time deciding which one to resteem.... heeelpppp! :)

Would it be better to wrote some post that summarize it and I would quote authors and put link to their article? Let me know how does it work. Which solution is better on steemit. Reposting many posts with similar content or creating my own post, using some quotes and mentioning quoted authors?

Thank you for your effort and for memory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77