You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit’s Three Major Problems

in #steemit7 years ago

I think the main problem is discovery of content. Right now you have to be specifically following someone, find it in hot or trending or specifically find it in topics or search. I'm not sure what the solution is, (Yet. I'll post when I do) but if there was some way that we could be exposed to things that interest us, whether from whales or minnows, I think it would make it easier for quality content writers to find an audience. Maybe bots could help, maybe AI, we'll see.

Sort:  

This is a major challenge. The widespread use of algorithms that show us content we 'like' is the very foundation of the so-called echo chamber. I'm against this. But yes, content discovery is an important and interesting challenge.

I agree that it is good to expose ourselves to new ideas. My problem is what if I'm not interested in the travel blogs or cooking posts. You could say that I want an echo chamber that is focused on the topics of bitcoin, decentralization of power, general philosophy, etc. ;) Of course I want to read both sides of the discussion...

But how do we make discovery focused on your interests while still exposing you to new ideas?

Maybe it could be topical, for example, Bitcoin is the topic, so it would show me ideas for and against bitcoin?

I don't know the answer yet but I'm researching it now for my upcoming post. I've enjoyed reading your posts on the subject and if you have any other thoughts or resources on the subject, send them my way! :)

"what if I'm not interested in the travel blogs or cooking posts" - made me laugh :-)

But yes, it's a daunting task and we're really not just talking about Steemit anymore, but about more general solutions to the content discovery challenge. Other than the suggestion below (by @codewithcheese), the concept of 'explore related' could be expanded. I think the only place where this category actually delivers it's promise is on YouTube. Their algorithms keep surprising me. On Facebook - and pretty much anywhere else - the 'related' category should really be called 'the same'. Show me more of the same. No, thanks. Show me the same topic, but a different opinion, or show me a related topic. Your topicality suggestion may be the future.

I agree totally! I want a solution as good (or better) than youtube but without giving away all of my personal information.

Thanks for your kind words. I appreciate it!

I suppose you've encountered d-tube?

Yes! I've got a few videos up already! :) I guess I meant youtube's discovery algorithms.

What about if you could become a part of 'exploration groups' whereby the number of upvotes (as opposed to the weight) by members of that group on certain posts would determine the content of a separate feed (i.e. your exploration feed). Or perhaps it wouldn't even have to be groups, it could be that as well as following an individual, you could also choose to have them as part of your exploration team, so that their upvoting activity would add to the exploration feed. Or something like that.... by putting your trust in certain users interests, you could massively widen the scope of content within this feed.....instead of just relying on what people have resteemed

You can vent good ideas by RSVP to the #beyondbitcoin #Whaletank, tomorrow is one so be quick!

I just made it in to a post and put those two tags in. Was that the right thing to do? Or by RSVP do you mean I have to reply somewhere? thanks for the suggestion :)

If you want to have you own 15 min. talk then RSVP here but better take next week since now we going to start in a couple of hours. You can listen in and ask questions and are very welcome to do so! But make sure to follow the Mumble instructions and set push to talk.

Ah I see! I don't know about mumble and I guess Ive missed it anyway, but I was really just suggesting an idea, I wouldn't know how to actually implement it as a project..... thanks for the optimistic suggestion though! Its really cool that steemit is allowed to grow and improve via its user base

Sounds like and idea. Also sounds like a complex algorithm.

Also feel free to RSVP I really liked your analysis, you've put it very bluntly and righteously so.

I agree. Seems like tags are not enough. Reddit someone can make a subreddit and that is like a little community in of itself. So does not matter if all the members of minnows since they can easily see each others posts within the subreddit.

Good point, I really like the communities and collections features in google plus. ( communities are like a subreddit, and collections are like pinterest boards) I think these type of features could be awesome on steemit!

Many people mention the formation of 'communities', when discussing future improvement of Steemit. I think it is a natural development, and deeply rooted in humans to form groups, I might add.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62059.45
ETH 2433.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63