Who else wants to be able to delete posts on Steemit???

in #steemit8 years ago

Why is this not a thing? Why am I bound to what I put up on here forever?

It definitely shouldn't be this way. At least give people the option.
I never put up anything too crazy but I am a man of high standards and I think some of my old posts need work. In the rare event someone actually wants to read them why should they suffer. Why can't we even edit them.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I think this is a big problem. And I'm going to be honest with you, we live in an age today where everyone and everything is watching. Big companies, the government, who knows.

I personally think this is a common sense issue. Everywhere else you are able to delete. Maybe people would write different posts, had they known. OR the post could be TOTALLY HARMLESS, and maybe you just want to delete it. MY point is, you shouldn't need a reason.

I don't know. I will say, you know, they should have said what they meant to begin with.. BUT WE AL MAKE MISTAKES.

GIVE US THE RIGHT TO CORRECT THEM.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Please comment and follow! :)

Sort:  

1 word: Blockchain.

Because it's the point of the blockchain, it's made to last for as long as the blockchain lives.

You say it's the point of the block chain but as he pointed out, comments can be deleted. Content from the post can be deleted. Why not the actual post?

Because there is a delay between when you post something to Steemit and when it is embedded permanently in the blockchain. This delay corresponds to the time before the first payout

We can get all technical but that's not the point. The point is WHY NOT? Personally feel like it limits the audience and topics people are willing to talk about. If you can delete people will be more open and honest bottom line, not the opposite.

like he said before. because the data goes into blocks on a blockchain, which is essentially a distributed database that only moves forward changing states as needed linearly into the future. in short, you can NEVER delete something once it has been officially added to the blockchain, unless you restart the blockchain from scratch.

When does it end?

Hopefully never, if it did. steem would be dead.

I definitely don't want that. But anything can be coded into steemit. I think delete options wouldn't make or break it at all, it's just an option.

you can't do it with the blockchain, if it was easy to delete a post, then you can delete anything, even transactions with the coin. and then you cause big issues. the block chain can never been change with out screwing up the whole system. You need to make sure, what you post is what you mean. When you tell someone in person, you have to think before you talk, because when you talk, you have no way to delete your verbal speech to that person. Hence why the block chain is important, and its a permanent record. I don't like to be a downer, this is how it is, if it's uneasy. There is always facebook, where you can delete to your hearts content. Yet I hope you stay, I think we all are important in this revolution in tech.

I agree . The content of a pair can be deleted so why can't the entire post be deleted? Yes you can say the point of the block chain is to hold everything in, but this is untrue if the content can be erased. You should at least be given like one a week you can delete or something.

As the system is now, I believe you can edit until the post is archived. After that, it's permanent.

I suspect even if you could mark a post as deleted, it couldn't really ever be. The reason? That's the way a blockchain is designed. When you make an edit, you are really making another corrected post and the old post data is still in the blockchain.

I hear you man, it's all good. I was just saying. Thanks for the input though!

because reputation is build everyday from things which you do. Internet do not forget (and blockchain will also never forget).

I hear you. But still, you used to able to edit posts.. when does this blockchain end? The Internet may not forget but.. At the very least you can hide things better. I have nothing up that I'm ashamed of.. For example and I'm not hating on you, but you just wrote, "Internet do not forget." What if a job found this comment and was like, "Oh, this guy talks like a total caveman, no way is he getting it." WOULDN'T YOU WANT TO DELETE?? Just an example.

Internet do not forgot Jon son.LMAO

I can't agree with that! Sorry! The blockchain concept is leading all the STEEM Community! Just think twice before hitting that post button if you care about your reputation or actions! Welcome to the next level of trust!

So why am I able to delete my comments?

I think comments are different then posts. A post should be posted with certainty, you can edit it up to 24 hours though. After that , its in the block chain for ever. Comments , people might say something they didnt intend to. though I think that gets lock in after 24 hours too.

I just don't get why it's so important? You can't trust a guy that deletes things haha that's ridiculous, you could delete for any reason. I like to manicure things, thats what makes your feed better over time, a better eye = better product / time.

You can delete comments from the past I just checked. So I'm saying it's a contradiction.

Those losers are gross @pipertomcat . They desperately need jobs as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79