Improvements to Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

Steemit is the rocky balboa of social media platforms as it is an underdog, though a force to be reckoned with. However rocky didn't survive all the way to the 6th movie without some improvements. So here it goes.

 photo Steemit Improvements2_zpscrtmbkff.png

  1. Improved balance of power.

 photo balance-of-power_zpsieikquuw.jpg
(image from thedesertreview.com)

  • Ive stated this before and many others (all minnows I might add) all agree. There is power in numbers, but not on steemit, which to me is ridiculous. Yet, at the same time I do agree that there should be people who do hold power but NOT WHALES. I think steemit should have a government like judgement system. People themselves get voted not for popularity, but liking the right posts, and those people with the most power in turn become governors once they reach a certain level. BUT great power comes with great responsibility because like a job, you can't get paid to do nothing, you must JUDGE and judge justly! They should be required to make a certain amount of upvotes a day to minnows and higher ranks alike on a bell curve, however ONLY GOOD CONTENT. Because it is fact there will be good content coming from every class of steemian.. I believe power will be balanced. Ay! :)
  1. Picture preview / crop

 photo Manual-Crop_zpsffvayday.jpg
(pic from drupal.org)

  • I always find myself in the dark as how the picture that embodies my post will show up, and 9/10 times it is at some weird offset crop. This would just be very nice. :)
  1. A recycle of sort of posts so posts aren't lost forever after 20 mins

 photo Recycling_zpsowslbubb.png
(pic from franklinlakes.org)
-First of all we should all be recycling anyways!!! :) Save the planet!

  • But I've been on here long enough to see when I post something after the first hour tops.. I've reached 95% of my up vote potential because it is no longer relevant in the feed. I think there should be a recycle maybe every 12 hours or something that reposts your posts so at least they have a second chance of success.
  1. Collaboration

 photo Unknown_zps6smtjrur.jpeg

(pic from http://tvdsb.libguides.com/elementary/collaborate)

  • I think somehow there should be a way to have maybe some kind of chat room on here (if there is already I apologize, still new) but really a way to reach people directly. And if you decide to collaborate it should post as BOTH your work which splits profits automatically etc. Two heads are better than 1!
  1. Upvoting should only be able to be done on the actual page

 photo aff_zpsbjd9pxxq.jpg
(pic from knowyourmeme.com)

  • You shouldn't just be able to up vote left and right for whatever reason. It means you DIDN'T EVEN READ OR LOOK AT THE CONTENT. You must look at the actual page holding the text or picture to make a decision about it.
  1. Adding to 5, I don't think money or up votes should be shown on a post until after 1 day.

 photo att2001131_zps9qdchpim.jpg
(pic from pacificariptide.com)

  • It's not a popularity contest. (Ah, this one is mutable I would have to see it play out ) But I think if the idea of steemit is to be content based. IT SHOULD BE BASED ON THE CONTENT. Not what everyone thinks. Once a lot of people see a lot of other people like a post, how easy is it to just hop on the bandwagon???

Some of these I put more thought into than others but I think These are some solid Improvements that can really help. I love steemit so I only want to see it become the best social platform it can possibly be.

I hope you all will comment and let me know about how you feel about these and add some of your own..

My only hope is that it somehow reaches the top, and things change for the better.

Steel on family!!! :)

Please comment and Follow!

Sort:  

Yea your right it still needs a lot of changes. I suggest a $100 minimum to control the amount of accounts a user can have. See the post I just posted it shows a major flaw in steemit

I like the idea of a random stream for recycling active posts... Keeps posts in the game for the full 24 hours.

We all just playas in the game haha Thanks for the input, I'm saying!

I like the idea of choosing what part of your picture shows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68