Suicide In The Face Of Plenty.

in #steemit6 years ago

images (1).jpeg

Have you ever heard that someone committed suicide before?

I bet, you have.

What do you think can be one of the reasons why people attempt to kill themselves?

Sometimes, it is because of the feeling of helplessness, hopelessness, emptiness and chronic confusion.

When people feel the world is crashing in on them alone. When they feel they are the only one living in the desert, yet they live in a busy city.

When people feel they can't get help, when they feel nobody can understand them, when they feel it's all over, nothing can change or be changed.

When they want to simply disappear and never to be seen again. When they feel death, like getting drunk, isn't a solution but a better option to 'forever' forget their misery.

Guys, if you have never felt this way, I don't pray you do.

One thing that I know that changes our stories everyday is the people we interact with, far more than the inner interaction you have with yourself.

The people you interact with influences the access, the tools, the skills, the lives and the resources you can get per time.

For example, I am a member of a church. Last year I needed to open a $ account and I was far from the city. I needed a corporate account to sign to get a payout. I went to the church. It got cleared.

Initially, I felt 'hopeless' that getting this signature in a rural community was impossible. Until, I remembered that I was a member of a church, I felt alone and disturbed.

Again, I am a member of a particular global network since 2015. This network does not fund any project of people that aren't part of the network.

Last year, the organization I work with was able to access this funding to empower more youths to turn their knowledge into action.

Why? I am a member. Funds released.

The hopelessness and feeling of helplessness that come to people wanting to make impact, yet struggle for funding didn't show up in our case.

Okay, let me ask you too.

What opportunities have you been able to enjoy because you are a member of a particular organization or network?

Please share. It seems many people are always looking at what they lack, instead of all the beautiful and amazing help that is all around them.

You need help, but you are not seeing the people around you as a solution. Why?

What help have you been able to get because you have learned to ask and leverage on the associations that you belong to?

#YouAreLimitless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74