The Depression Chronicles// When You Feel Like Doing Nothing, Do Something Anyway // And Some Pot Rambling

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The Depression Chronicles:When you feel like doing nothing, do something anyway.

Or

Let’s talk about pot, baby

I started today with high hopes. And I don’t just mean hopes of getting high, which, in California doesn’t require all that much hoping since [Proposition 64](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Proposition_64) passed recreational use.

And why I am writing about pot when I sat down to write about depression is somewhat beyond me, but I might was well go with it, at least to the limits my freedoms allow, which is to say not completely.

It is a boom time for marijuana entrepreneurship in California, watch an episode of Netflix’s new Disjointed if you doubt me--or maybe you’ve heard (as I have) tales of friends of friends who made $40,000 in a single crop, legally, and you need no persuading.

Celebrated in the popular culture broadly, and even popular in steemit posts, like those championing Steem (and pot) by @ackza. It’s so interesting in fact that I’ve half a mind to turn my backyard into a little pot factory. Except for one thing--kids. That, and the fact that all that negative shit you hear about marijuana, or did when I was a kid, has a way of sticking to you. It is a strange thing, this transition to legality. This gradual acceptance that is kind enough to make you feel more comfortable when you reach for new heights (hights?--too much?) but isn’t so secure that you don’t feel the need to constantly check your footing.

So I probably won’t be putting up pictures of pot plants here, even though I would kind of like to; it somehow still doesn’t feel right. It is still sort of dirty and taboo, still something that borders on shame and darkness. That is, it still doesn’t feel perfectly NORML. At least it is for me, or perhaps in my perception of how it causes others to view me.

Still, it makes one wonder about morals generally. How do our notions of right and wrong from? How do they change? Can they change completely?

Not sure. I just forced myself to write this because I’ve been battling with depression--something that tends to sap the shit out of my productivity-- and I wanted to give it a good kick in the pants.

Here’s to semi-lucid rambling!

@lilrut
ST-3-bud

Sort:  

This post has been blessed with a 3.33 % upvote from @cannabiscurator Plugged in by @netgodbeerus I can Help You Pay It Forward and Steem your fellow Steemian back. Simply Transfer 0.420 to @cannabiscurator and the 420 Steemit Link you want Blessed with a Upvote in the Memo.

PS. Steemian Stoner Squad Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow our Cannabis community on Steemit.

small_man.png

Peace in Blunts Fam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81