I think Steemit should omit the '$' sign from its front page. Do you agree?

in #steemit8 years ago

I am of the opinion that seeing the '$' amount is a negative experience for me. It makes me feel like this place is not a social place but a market of some sort. One of the reasons why, I think, the mainstream social websites work is because they keep the commerce away from the social. The moment you see the '$' sign, all you think about it is how do I make me some?! And that's just anti-social inherently.

So my suggestion is to get away with the '$' sign and show normal upvote count like reddit, and keep the commerce part private to each user. They should see the amount they earned in their dashboard but it should not be publicly visible.

This would greatly increase the appeal of the website in my opinion. What do you think?

Sort:  

Not a bad idea. I am sure we will see many changes over the coming months, this would just be 'on-board' phase - I look forward to future releases. For starters, a little alert for replies would be nice.

Not a chance. The whole reason Steemit is exploding is because people are getting paid for their content. They see someone get $5,000 for a post and they want to get in on that action.

I like to see the money

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46