A Hard Lesson On Self Responsibility On The Blockchain.

in #steemit7 years ago

crying_baby.jpg

I had spent four hours on that post, finished and excitedly clicked on the post button. It was taking a while, then PUFF-ZAP_FLASH it was GONE!!! It had slipped between some crack between my computer and the blockchain gone forever. At first there was denial, then frantic, then sever discouragement. I knew I should back it up after I had lost a few posts when steemit was up and down for a few days.

After I settled down and picked up my mangy computer a little inward voice whispered to me. The great thing about crypto is the freedom, but that freedom is at the price of self responsibility. We are not paying someone to back our stuff up for us. It is up to us to make sure we take all precautions so if something does go wrong we are prepared. The first rule and every one after that was don't lose your password. Your posts may disappear, a hard copy is important. Laziness has a chance of being punished.

I had gotten comfortable in my routine, and didn't want to change it.

Today I am making a plan to start creating better habits. I want to be responsible and efficient so I can keep up with the goals in front of me. I am so grateful for the chance to improve my process, and that when you ignore something important sometimes it makes you look.

Thanks for reading.
Ren.

Sort:  

There is a free markdown editor named Typora which you can use to compose and save, then copy and paste into Steemit when complete.

I'll have to check into that, thanks!

Awesome! Thank you so much, I am really glad I did this post now I have so many great options from people. I love steemit. Thanks for your tip and reading.

This has happened to me also... I now write on a document program and then insert it here. ha.

I love you ways, Ren. <3

Nice job @mamadidi! How are you ad your enchanted wolf dog, beautiful? <3

I am so worn out -- oh my I forgot how much work a pup is. She has doubled her size in two weeks and the razor teeth... lol. She is so cute and fluffy with a sharks mouth.

I know this is an issue, but like you said in your post, I rarely back it up before submitting and that's something I should work on as well. Maybe it's time to reevaluate some of my habits as well..?

That is the great thing about steemit, we can all learn together! Thank you for reading my blog.

Yes, the most valuable part of life is learning. As long as you learn and consciously adapt then even fortunate experiences become a blessing.

Life shall then continue to improve every day!

I wrote a post somewhat similar to this a few days ago about turning lemons into lemonade!

Blessings to you!

SteemOn to SteemFest!

You did and reminded us to back it up, I was thinking of your post when it disappeared! Now I will take your advice, and from here on out will back up my posts. It is so great we can learn from each other and share experiences on this platform. What a great experience. Thanks for reading @quinneaker!

Yes exactly!

Bless it be~*~

Happened to me once and so, before clicking post, I always copy pasting my work for back up just in case that will happen again. :)

Good job! Better safe than sorry and annoyed ;)

I spent an hour on what Id thought was a quality post..hit send and it just never uploaded,,grr. Soo frustrating! Now I try to write it on another program and then copy it into Steemit. By the way..Im @happymoneymans Santa Cruz steemit friend..following you now! Cheers!

I am so glad to meet you! now you can be my Santa Cruz friend too! Good job backing it up @scalerman.

it's always so scary when you hit send and the wheel is spinning, what's going to happen? I'm sorry you lost your post. I use MarkdownPad2(windows), haroopad(linux), or hackmd.io(collaborative web editor).

Thank you for the websites @inquiringtimes. I am really new at everything on the computer so I really appreciate people taking time to teach me. I think the loss of the post is worth the push for better habits :)

Ahhhh. One of the most frustrating things ever. I think we can all identify.
I'm really sorry that happened.

You're beauty and grace will shine through when you re write it.

Thank you! My goal is to write it much better than the first draft then it would be a good thing it was vaporized.

I always compose my posts in google doc first just to make sure I don't fall victim to this fate ;-) lol

Nice job being safe! Google docs is a good idea. Thanks for reading my blog!

lol yesterday exactly the same happend to me!!!

Bummer! Well I guess we will both be backing things up from now on. Thanks for reading.

Indeed. It happened today again, but this time I had a copy saved. hehe^^

I'm in a good mood, which is why I will follow you now.

Nice job! Take that glitch! *ninja chop

I have to bother you again. There is another bug that I have encountered and which happened to at least two of my articles: Even if it successfully adds the article to the blockchain&steemit, it can be that it gets cut in the middle. The lower half of the article is simply gone.

After publishing my latest post I deleted the copy because I thought I won't need it anymore. That turned out as a big mistake. So, better take a look at the final result before you delete the raw test. It doesn't have to happen to you too...

Thank you! Not bothering at all! One of my most favorite things about steemit is the dialog and how we can all learn from each other. Thanks for letting us know. I am sorry about your post @doodlebear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71