500 True Followers! My First Big Milestone, Thank You Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

20171009_090835.jpg

I am so happy to have reached 500 True Followers in 68 days! Thank you so much to all that has supported me, whether it has been through encouraging responses or upvotes.

20171009_090758.jpg

I wanted to share a little story with you that regards my writing. I am a horrible at spelling and quite dyslexic. I had a really hard time in school, bad grades and struggled with learning in general. Growing up in Hawaii, where and when I was there was hard. I was told I was stupid by teachers and they would get really frustrated with me. I was convinced I was stupid especially when It came to writing. I loved to read, and am a really fast reader. Reading too was hard at first, I didn't read even simple words until I was in the third grade, then I started reading novels. It just clicked one day, my first book was Dr. Doolittle.

About that time my Mom pulled my out of school homeschooled me. She let me work when I wanted and as fast as I wanted as long as I got a certain amount done by a certain time. It was a great way for me to develop my way of learning, and I taught myself. But the feeling that I was unintelligent stuck with me, without peers to compare myself to or teachers for feedback I progressed but my concept of who I was and my own capabilities stayed that little girl who was yelled at for not learning quick enough.

Fast forward to high school. I had a teacher, she was from Colombia. I adored her, she taught my English and Spanish class. One day she gave an short story assignment. I read so many books that most of my childhood is remembered through the books I have read. I wrote a story and embarrassed handed it in. She loved it and sat me down after class to explain why and how talented she believed I was. I never had anyone do that before. She planted a seed showed with love and belief so genuine it cracked a little hole in my mind and allowed some sun to shine.

20171009_091354.jpg

Years later I would go to this little coffee shop to get out of the rain in the winters. I was living on my first boat and right down the alley from my café was a public dock to tie up my dinghy, perfect.

There was a poetry night every month on the second Wednesday of the month. I would always go and sit in the back. One day a gentleman approached me, he said why don't I try to write something for next month an share. He said poetry was about sharing, and even though they loved that I would come and quietly sit, it was my time to share.

20171009_091206.jpg

So I wrote my first poem and shared it the next month in front of a room of people. It felt great and so my poetry began quietly and out of sight. On napkins and stuffed into my purse so no one would see. Whispered to trees and the waves in the sea. But just to secret self. Until now, you steemit.

20171009_091001.jpg

I never wanted to be on the internet until steemit. I didn't like the corporate overlords and their evil censoring ways. And now I can share my stories and hear other peoples as well. I am so grateful to steemit and all who participate in this awesome platform! I love you.

Ren

Sort:  

Awesome milestone! Congrats Ren!

500 more to come :)

Thank you so much!

Congratulation! Ren. You are doing amazing. Beautiful story. You deserve all that you have achieved and more. Keep up the good work. :)

Thank you so much @firepower! You have been an encouragement from my first days through your minnow support. I am very grateful for that. You and others like you are the next people in my story that believed in me :) And for that I will always remember you with gratitude.

Amazing post!!! another true follower dear @lifemovedbysteem

In most countries school destroys creativity and creates anxious and nervous people who struggle to fit in. I was fortunate to do well in school and college but many are not, and it's sad to be stigmatized for that. Awesome story and looking forward to the next one :)

Thank you @calatorulmiop! It is true what you said about schools, I know a lot of people have been hurt by that approach. Thank you so much for reading my writing and commenting. It is so nice to have people consistently show up on my page and positively contribute :)

Beautiful Story and Photos! It's a blessing to find a home here!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read it!

Nice story. Teachers can make a big difference but they are often flawed like the rest of humanity ;-)

Its true, they can also change lives and inspire like the rest of us as well. Thank you for reading @lightrhythm.

That's such a beautiful story. I love how your teacher showed gave to hope for your wonderful writing. Great work. Your writing is inspiring.

Thank you @happymoneyman for all of your support for my steemit writing. It is a lovely thing to look back and be grateful for the people who have shown up for you in your life.

you have great wrinkles on your forehead, very evenly distributed. It's almost as if you did that with compass and linear... that's what I call very lucky, you won't need Botox and congratulations to the followership. I will now add myself to it;-)

Gaining a follower due to evenly distributed forehead wrinkles, this may be a steemit first! I am honored :)

It's a pleasure. I never hesitate to make a compliment when there is one to make;-)

hello i am following you.
If you follow me you will be happy.

:)))))

haha. Got em. haha fun times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37