You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Steemy Housekeeping Needed Done (tips for newbies!)

in #steemit7 years ago

Well written! I need to do the same. I made a post about losing 5 followers halfway through the day yesterday (and it was all that I lost -- and gained 11 today so far which is above average!), with questions as to what may have caused it.

Some of the feedback included that perhaps I'm not curating enough on other people's blogs. So I've made a point to do that today, while I'm catching up on my replies. I don't think I'll ever fully catch up :) but I'm now only two days behind, and like you said I'm reaching out more and connecting better with others.

It would be great to have "replies to my posts" as well as "replies to my comments", as the latter tend to be more in-depth discussions, whereas the former tends to have a lot of "great post!"-type comments, and "followed you, follow me?" which I'll start downvoting/flagging.

I like that there are multiple interfaces to read Steemit with, http://busy.org being one and another which is more like a bulletin board; found it, and https://beta.chainbb.com/ being another.

Visualization tools I think would help as well. Like a pie chart showing which of your followers/followings you communicate with the most, or upvote the most/receive upvotes from, etc. Anyway, just thinking out loud, back to you. :)

Sort:  

The pie chart thing would be great. Maybe something like that would be good for whales who really are trying to build community, let them see how their impact is REALLY playing out. It just is stunning, now that I understand how much your kindness got me off the ground, and as you said, it cost you nothing other than the 25 you gifted me. Thank you again, BTW!
I used to help decide the bonus amounts for employees. The doctors all had megamoney, they could have written the entire staff $50K checks for a bonus every year, but they knew if they gave them more than a few hundred, or a couple grand to the long term, key employees, they would quit. Might go into business, go back to school, but they knew if they GAVE anyone enough money to change their life that they would indeed change their life, and they wanted the bonus to encourage RETENTION. It is like the whales do not understand that a simple upvote or just a resteem spent on the peons would do wonders for keeping good contributors motivated.

I'm so glad you're finding your way here. You're welcome again!

I know what you're talking about with the bonuses. I worked for a tech company in the 90s with stock options, and when we went public, several fellow employees were served divorce papers -- the wives had had enough with being neglected, from the 80 to 100 hour weeks we routinely worked. And then, as the stock started to rise, the "bigger fish" started leaving the pond. Management had to give out larger stock option grants, in order to keep them in "golden handcuffs".

"Golden handcuffs" - what a great description!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69076.52
ETH 2742.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72