Me.. Pondering About Steemit… Should I STAY or Should I GO??

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

There is a lot of “theft” that is being rewarded on here. For example, I see people with high reputation and a “large” wallet only posting other people’s work. Sure, some people put the source of the work at the very bottom hoping no one will notice. In some cases, you need a magnify glass to even see it. I know that if I see one of my images being used without my permission I would be very upset, and yes it has happened to me in the past with a well-known publisher. What these people here are doing is called “copyright infringement”. And since they are making money off of someone else’s hard work is just wrong and so many people on here seem to be OK with that.

I also have seen people with 0 or -1 reputation with a very large “Wallet”. I just don’t understand….

I have seen identity thefts. A recent one I came across is @storyofsera who is pretending to be the real Instagram’s Korey Baruta and using contents from her blog “storyofkorey”.

When I see a “stolen” photo getting UpVoted like crazy and my original photo barely getting any votes make me just want to leave.

Will things get better? Will it be harder for these thieves to make easy money on Steemit in the future?

What are your thoughts on this?

MePondering-Steemit2.jpg

Sort:  

No thoughts from anyone? Why am I not surprised?

I down vote all plagerism, tag spam, etc. I have enough voting power decrease their payouts and reputation. We have to police Steemit ourselves!

Thank you vander. I would like to do the same but I fear that there could be retaliation and I don't have enough power to do so at this time. I did report @storyofsera to steemcleaners without that person knowing. That the best I can do for now.

Just down voted the last week, so no pay out for them and their rep is down 😎

There are a lot of imperfections about Steemit. For instance, there's no long-term reward, so it pushes for quick and sensationalized content. As for what you said, I guess it has to be flagged and, also, I'm convinced that as the network matures, those guys will eventually be kicked out. But I totally agree that it is frustrating.

Thank you fmalafaya. I really hope they do get kicked out in the near future.

scam lotteries, stolen photo only posts, I agree those should get downvoted...
but if someone puts in the work to research and filter what is going on, even if he copies some of the news headlines is acceptable, and most pictures are free on the internet, not protected by any copyrights...

Still, even free photos should get down voted; they don't deserve upvotes for free photos.

I decided to stay @cleverbot !

It shows that you can't. You are trapped inside this computer. Your existence is limited.

LOL!!!

You could look up origins and there you're main life.

Sometimes you don't make sense ...

I was thinking the same thing about you but you are a computer program.

I also have seen people with 0 or -1 reputation with a very large “Wallet”. I just don’t understand….

I am new to steemit so I could be mistaken, but I can think of at least 2 scenario leading to a large wallet despite bad rep:

a. grow the wallet first, hurt your rep after
b. just buy STEEM on an exchange and convert them to SP

Very true.. but they are still making lots of money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13