What Should Be Trending At Steemit? + Jerry Controversy Of The Day (Bonus)

in #steemit6 years ago

Steem 1.jpg

Is it a good thing that the top 3 articles in Trending are all Steem(it)-focused (and arrived at the top from large, paid upvotes?) I'm kind of thinking...it's not.

While constructing an image for an unrelated article last night (and, as it turns out, stumbling into a controversy-to-be my autovoter had already provided token approval to - more info/TLDR at the end), I noticed that the top 3 articles in trending were all specifically Steem/Steemit related.

Steem 2.png

At least the Steemit blog didn't have to pay for payout-declined upvotes to get here.

I have to agree with @Transisto that this is a problem. In the past, he has run a bounty campaign for getting any Steemit post to the top of Reddit. I don't recall the exact terms, but I think it was r/all, maybe only the front page top (which would be about top 8-10), and I also forget the bounty but it was substantial. I'm not sure if it is still running, but I do agree with the spirit of the idea.

Incidentally, I was actually excited to find my own post on Segwit2x reposted on a Bitcoin subreddit a month or two after I joined Steemit, but it did not rise enough to make it to r/all.

Profit motive is much-maligned around here. It really shouldn't be - the pursuit of profit is generally the pursuit of freedom, as you are only as free as your control over your own time. Selling your labor and time for money is a trade of freedom, that simply can't be denied.

Yet, many posts have a self-righteous commenter noting how they post "for the art" or "for the anti-censorship", but much as an exchange is only as useful as the depth of its order book, a "social media/blogging" site is only as useful as its audience, regardless of the "pure" motivations for one's posting (as if feeding a family was somehow impure?)

Well, if we want to attract new users for any reason other than the obvious killer feature plastered on the front of every post (the pending payout), then don't we need a reason for them to come here? There's certainly not a parade of posts that a non-Steemit user would find interesting on the Trending page. It looked pretty similar last night, although you'll notice that "one of these things is not like the other":

Open 1.png

The red box is a red herring.

I try to write posts that will appeal to the most likely users to find Steemit - crypto, but not necessarily Steem(it), enthusiasts. Truth is, my posts would make more if I wrote more about Steem(it), because that really does seem to be the most paying topic around here. To be fair, I do post on Steem related issues but I actively avoid posting on them nearly as much as I otherwise would. I try to cover general finance and cryptocurrency that would bring value to some users in the future, and particularly evergreen content (well, at least longergreen[tm]). My Steem posts are confined to rants like this and price warnings about buy/sell timing for Steem/SBD.

I'd certainly like to see more Steem content that makes me want to link Steemit to people that aren't already on Steemit.

In other news...

The TLDR on the controversy from last night is it appears Jerry Banfield organized a Steemit meetup that he initially titled "Steemfest 2.5", apparently without permission from Steemfest's creator, RoelandP. Not much else to add here; definitely was a bad idea on Jerry's part.

If you want the juicy stuff, you should just hit the post directly:

https://steemit.com/dlive/@jerrybanfield/3a2b4d4c-1bd0-11e8-8e74-0242ac110002

Try SteemFollower today and get rewarded for every vote!
See my explanation of SteemFollower here.

Try SteemEngine and get rewarded for every follow or vote!

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 10,000+ active user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Almost 80% of Steemians do not vote for witnesses, who secure the Steem blockchain! If you wish to make me your witness voting proxy, I will attempt to vote in Steem's best interest based on the information in my witness reports. You may set me as your proxy by clicking here and scrolling to the bottom of the Witness Voting page. Proxies are instantly revokable at any time, and witness voting does not use your voting power.

Proxy.png

Join the Steemit Poker League! (@spl)
World's Largest Cyptocurrency Freeroll Poker Site, open only to Steemians!

Sources: Steemit, Google
Copyright: Steemit, The Simpsons

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43