You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit, Like Life, Is A Popularity Contest - Embrace It Or Devote Your Efforts To Other Pursuits - Your Problem Is Not The Reward Pool, It's Persistence & Commitment To Community

in #steemit7 years ago

This is a really perfect analogy.

This is why it can really help as a minnow to use all the voting bots: MinnowSupport Group's 5-6 bots, Randowhale, MinnowBooster, BellyRub, Treeplanter.

The idea is to get your post to the HOT section of at least one or two of it's tags. That's really hard if you are using the most popular tags like Steem or Bitcoin. It's pretty easy (often under $1 in pending rewards) in more obscure tags like some I've been using lately, like BitcoinCash.

I really like your idea of a followers-sidebar. We need the ability to filter our feed somehow, I can't really use mine anymore!

Thanks a lot for your comment! (I see the hand of nikez has already curated my comments for me)

Sort:  

Thanks for all of these tips. I will cut and paste this post and study it in much larger font over the next few days. Thank you! We, newbies, can use all the help we can get. It's very much appreciated.
Peace!

Another big exodus is starting at YouTube as the last couple days:

There goes that nervous laugh again…I have to say it was partly because of the presentation; but, this is really disturbing. I don’t think anyone saw the once liberal YouTube becoming so restrictive re the demonetization of videos.
Perhaps, it’s not about the content as much as limiting who gets paid, thus costing them less money, while continuing to reap the rewards of subscribers’ attention on their platform.
I knew there was a huge change coming when my simple out-there dreams got demonetized. Then, I started hearing the serious players complain vehemently; and, I knew there was a new sheriff in town.
I think the 2K16 elections were so filled with anti this candidate, anti that candidate, that the people with the most money behind the scenes insisted that restrictions had to be stronger and enforced, OR lawsuits would ensue.
Today, I learned that Jerry Banfield has earned more on Steemit in two months than he did in two years on YouTube. So, I have to believe the decentralized D-Tube platform will find millions of new users.
Thanks for this post.
Peace.

I, too, wonder what Google's motivation is. Youtube was well-known as a money-loser when they bought it, and they never made any serious attempts to make it profitable.

It's scary to think the real reason they bought it was to increase their ability to influence society on a larger scale.

I will have nightmares if I jump on the conspiracy-theory train this late in the evening; but, the whole internet design is creepy if one allows self to think about it....lol...I don't want to go down that rabbit hole...I must smh and walk away.

Peace.

UPDATE: Perhaps God is offering confirmation to my reply. Within minutes of writing this I read this by Elon Musk:

http://www.businessinsider.com/elon-musk-thinks-ai-will-be-the-cause-of-world-war-iii-2017-9

Peace.

New technology has always been both a plus and a minus.

Yes...I try hard not to think about it as such; but, I define much of it as a 'necessary evil'.

Without most of it, it's peace and quiet.

Without most of it, it's inconveniences, abundant and isolation from what's 'important'.

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38