You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curate like a Boss - A Beginner's Guide to Querying SteemSQL (by a complete SQL beginner)

in #steemit7 years ago

This post, like a number of others that I have recently seen, make me want to cry! You see, I am an experienced programmer (though with just a little bit of experienced using SQL inside SAS) and when I look at what you’ve done and then scroll down to see a payout off $16.35 I really want to weep. What’s more you even had 274 views. This is ridiculous!

The reward system in Steemit may never change, so let us thank God that there are authors who are prepared to do good work and not worry about the fact that their cash reward is a couple of cups of coffee at Starbucks.

BTW -- I do not mean to beat upon the designers of the reward system; but it is evident that it was set up in such a way that it becomes extremely difficult for people in particular areas of technical expertise to have the value of what they produce properly recognized in the system. For one thing, these people are not going to have hordes of Followers and only the geeks among the Whales will be able to identify good value when it is staring them in the face.

What’s more, while it is evident that to succeed here you need those hordes of followers and you need to cultivate a relationship with certain Dolphins and Whales (none of which is problematic when you remind yourself that this is at the core a social network), there is no professional specialization that I know about where productive people would be able to afford to spend their time this way!

Why am I crowing about this piece so much? I read about this linkage to an SQL server which gives you a chance to look at everything on the block chain several days ago, and I decided that I would get on with doing that because of the particular analyses that I wanted to do. I took a quick look at the available help and thought that it wasn’t great -- that is I would probably have to jump through a few hoops to get the whole thing working. But now here comes this wonderful post which has all the steps laid out at my feet.

Good show @carlgnash!

Sort:  

Hey thanks! I have to give you points for your user name, that is genius ;) Glad this was useful to you, and while I get your general point (and I consider quite a few of my posts to be criminally underpaid), in this case the work was definitely its own reward. I am having a blast poking around at the data contained in the blockchain and my understanding of the entire beast has deepened so much since the beginning of this undertaking. Obviously I wouldn't be spending as much time as I did on a post like this for the reward - even if it were to get up into the low 3 digits it wouldn't be a very good hourly wage LOL Cheers - Carl

Agreed that the work is its own reward. However, there are other writing venues where the reward system is set to provide decent focus to non-dollar factors.

Here, when I finish reading the ton of stuff now posted on the reward system, I'm almost made to feel badly that I have no desire to play a game in which I might struggle for days to produce good 'green' content, watch it disappear into 'ether' 20 minutes after I upload it, and find out days later that almost nobody saw it! This is not a good picture, Carl.

Hey I meant to reply to you earlier but my thoughts were still kind of gelatinous and oozing around and I couldn't quite crystallize my response. My first reaction was, this is kind of a curmudgeonly attitude but the more I thought about it the more I have to admit you do have a valid point. I can point to many posts of mine that actually received a very good reward for the time I spent making them, but in every case they were art or music posts. Art and music are much easier for a broader swathe of users to appreciate - they are as close to universal as anything is with humanity. A tutorial post on the other hand takes an insane amount of time but is hardly appreciated. A literally insane amount of time. Unless you have actually tried to break a process down into its component parts and outline them step by step with illustrations, you really don't have a clue how long that process takes. On the encouraging front, at least utopian.io is now properly rewarding posts like this. I just came along too soon with this. That is one of the beautiful things about the Steem ecosystem is that solutions to problems can and will just arise because it provides the basic mechanisms and the potential combinations and applications are only limited by the nearly limitless imagination and creative genius of the early adopters who are congregated here.

Thanks for your comment, @carlgnash.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45